Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2004, 12:34   #1
LordGlide
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Hi, I'm new here. Can you please help me with my monitor!

Sorry to trouble you all but I have a serious problem with my monitor. I have an IBM thinkpad and when I turn on my computer, everything is fine until the screen for the desktop appears. My monitor displays everything fine till that point and then it just goes blank. I can start it up in anyother mode and it works fine. We just got our computer re-formatted and the person didn't load the display drivers, so I load them and after loading the drivers, whenever I start my computer the monitor displays everything fine and when it gets to the point of displaying the desktop it just goes blank. So I was pretty sure there are experts here so I just wanted to ask for help. If you can help me, please let me know. Thanks.
LordGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 12:40   #2
chevrofreak
Senior Member
 
chevrofreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Billings, Montana
Posts: 9,364


Sounds to me like the video card may be set at too high of resolution, or the refresh rate may be too high.

Boot to safe mode, or Enable VGA mode, depending on OS, then set the resolution to 1024x768 at 60hz and see what happens.
__________________
smoke free since 4:58AM July 29th 2002!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
<-- currently 0 auction(s) running

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
The best IWB holster money can buy!
chevrofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 12:41   #3
chevrofreak
Senior Member
 
chevrofreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Billings, Montana
Posts: 9,364


Also, if the laptop has TV or VGA output it may be set to that output rather than the LCD. Most laptops will have a hot key for that.
__________________
smoke free since 4:58AM July 29th 2002!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
<-- currently 0 auction(s) running

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
The best IWB holster money can buy!
chevrofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 20:38   #4
David_G17
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
 
David_G17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,678
i bet he installed the wrong drivers.
__________________
"One handgun a month is too much."
"If you ask me, 12 handguns/year is too much."
"I'd be OK with one gun a year."
"We need the strong gun regs and enforcement Europe has."
-DU debates America's future 10/23/2005
David_G17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 20:53   #5
LordGlide
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Thank you very much for helping me. Right now I'm running the internet and everything on the VGA mode and I will try what you told me. Thanks a lot and by the way, I didn't load the wrong drivers because the computer did it for me when I searched for the proper drivers using the add new hardware thing in the control panel. Anyways, I will try what you told me. Thanks alot and I'll let you know what happens.
LordGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 21:49   #6
David_G17
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
 
David_G17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,678
FWIW, quite often (esp. with laptops), the best drivers are available on the manufacturer's website.

but sometimes, the standard Window's drivers work best.

what model do you have?

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/si...id=TPAD-MATRIX
__________________
"One handgun a month is too much."
"If you ask me, 12 handguns/year is too much."
"I'd be OK with one gun a year."
"We need the strong gun regs and enforcement Europe has."
-DU debates America's future 10/23/2005
David_G17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 05:34   #7
jack19512
Senior Member
 
jack19512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hazard Ky
Posts: 1,499
I bet it's a driver issue.
jack19512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 12:39   #8
LordGlide
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
I have an IBM thinkpad. A T21. And, I tried changing the resolution and things but the LCD still goes blank when I start it up the normal way. Well, when the computer checked for the display drivers the first time I loaded them the computer said that it was close to the appropriate drivers, so maybe it got the wrong drivers?

And for more info about the adapter type:

it's a S3 Graphics Savage/IX 1014

Last edited by LordGlide; 07-15-2004 at 12:47..
LordGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 17:12   #9
David_G17
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
 
David_G17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,678
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/si...R-4JSQHB#Video

^ click above link and scroll down to a section named "video". it looks like the T21 uses the same video driver as the T20.

choose the correct driver (depending on your Operating System) to download.

the next screen will let you download the executable file and/or the Readme text file.

download and run the executable.
__________________
"One handgun a month is too much."
"If you ask me, 12 handguns/year is too much."
"I'd be OK with one gun a year."
"We need the strong gun regs and enforcement Europe has."
-DU debates America's future 10/23/2005
David_G17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2004, 12:16   #10
LordGlide
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
I thank for helping me with thins situation and all. I really appreciate it. And I went to the link and did everything right, but the problem presists. So, do you think I should just load a different operating system? Just wondering. Thanks for all your help.
LordGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 13:50   #11
LordGlide
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
hello?
LordGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 17:14   #12
chevrofreak
Senior Member
 
chevrofreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Billings, Montana
Posts: 9,364


What operating system are you running?
__________________
smoke free since 4:58AM July 29th 2002!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
<-- currently 0 auction(s) running

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
The best IWB holster money can buy!
chevrofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 15:42   #13
LordGlide
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Hi. I'm just posting to say that the drivers are working properly now. Thank you all for being so kind and helping me out with my situation. I really appreciate it. If there's anything I can do to help you out, just let me know. Thanks.
LordGlide is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 13:23.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 853
239 Members
614 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31