Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 07-30-2004, 12:04   #1
Deanster
CLM Number 250
Cheese?

small-office PBX Noobie help

Hi everyone!

I'm a moderately experienced and technical guy, able to manage small networks just fine, and moving into Unix.

I'm working in a new office, and on their list when we move to new space in a couple months is an upgrade to their PBX system. The existing system is a 'Starplus' system supporting 8 outside lines, internal intercom, and a ridiculous external voicemail system where you dial the phone company, punch in your 10-digit number, and get your mail.

I've never worked with phone systems before, other than as a user, and the whole world of PBX is very new to me.

I'd really appreciate your suggestions of where to start, and perhaps suggest a couple systems that might meet our fairly basic needs - I'd like to set up a system with one main number, with several inbound lines. I'd like a direct number for each employee and I'd like voicemail that runs more or less normally (where you just push a button on your phone to retrieve it).

It'd be best if it didn't cost a mint, but we can spend as required to get something that works. My initial quote from a recommended vendor was for $9000, just for the hardware. Seems about 3x what I'd imagine was reasonable.

Thanks in advance.
Deanster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 15:42   #2
grantglock
/dev/null

Send a message via Yahoo to grantglock
I manage a 3com NBX system here at our office. It's pretty cheap for what you get. Plus it uses existing Cat 5 cable for your PC's.
grantglock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 17:43   #3
NetNinja
Always Faithful

Ahh wellcome to the world of PBX's

I managed a North Star system once. 300 + phones.

The components were expesive as hell. I was very supprised to realize that the system was actually a 486 computer running the whole show.