Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2004, 14:25   #1
LAWDOGKMS
Senior Member
 
LAWDOGKMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: TX
Posts: 2,227
Laptop question for the experts....output to TV??

For those that are more knowledgeable than myself about PC's, I have a question:

I have a Toshiba A15-S120 Laptop, purchased new last year..

It's got a 2.0 GHZ Intel Processor, 512 MB Ram, and a 30 GB HD..

I have a European DVD, in PAL format, that will not play in "Color" on my Apex Home DVD Player, but plays perfectly on the Laptop..

I (DO NOT) have an S-Video-Out on my Laptop.

Is there any way to connect the Laptop to the Television, without an S-Video connection?

The back of my laptop has a monitor connection, 2-USB ports, and a printer connection..

Any ideas??
LAWDOGKMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 14:32   #2
MB-G26
Lifetime Membership
Drivin' Blind
 
MB-G26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Mansfield Reformatory
Posts: 14,937


No idea whatsoever

'cause this is light years beyond my knowledge base, but I bet if you post in TechTalk you'll have some pretty quick answers.
m
__________________
I'm doin the best that I can.
(Godsmack)
MB-G26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 14:42   #3
chevrofreak
Senior Member
 
chevrofreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Billings, Montana
Posts: 9,364


Fn+F5 should scroll through the output options.

You can get a cable/adapter thing to go from composite to s-video.
__________________
smoke free since 4:58AM July 29th 2002!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
<-- currently 0 auction(s) running

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
The best IWB holster money can buy!
chevrofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 14:44   #4
chevrofreak
Senior Member
 
chevrofreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Billings, Montana
Posts: 9,364


Did the laptop perhaps come with a cable that has a 1/8" headphone style plug on one end and red white and yellow RCA plugs on the other end?
__________________
smoke free since 4:58AM July 29th 2002!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
<-- currently 0 auction(s) running

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
The best IWB holster money can buy!
chevrofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 14:48   #5
chevrofreak
Senior Member
 
chevrofreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Billings, Montana
Posts: 9,364


Oh, and dont pay much attention to my first post, I didnt read most of your post before I started responding ;9
__________________
smoke free since 4:58AM July 29th 2002!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
<-- currently 0 auction(s) running

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
The best IWB holster money can buy!
chevrofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 14:50   #6
RWBlue01
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,085
Does it have an RCA jack? (standard jack on most VCRs)

Option 2
buy a svga - RCA converter
RWBlue01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 14:58   #7
Medpilot 2
Smkumifyagotum
 
Medpilot 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,451
Send a message via AIM to Medpilot 2 Send a message via Yahoo to Medpilot 2
Sounds like you have a region 2 DVD. It may be possible to download some firmware to your Apex DVD player to make it region free. Depends on the DVD player you have.

You might be able to find some help HERE

To connect your Laptop to your TV can be more trouble than it's worth. It would be a little easier if your TV has a DVI input, but I'm guessing it doesn't. Even then you would have to get a VGA to DVI converter.

That's one thing I like about the Sony Vaio's, they come with a vid-out.
Medpilot 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 15:03   #8
chevrofreak
Senior Member
 
chevrofreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Billings, Montana
Posts: 9,364


Quote:
Originally posted by Medpilot 2
That's one thing I like about the Sony Vaio's, they come with a vid-out.

As do most Toshibas.
__________________
smoke free since 4:58AM July 29th 2002!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
<-- currently 0 auction(s) running

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
The best IWB holster money can buy!
chevrofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 13:27   #9
another okie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Oklahoma!
Posts: 3,444
Too bad it doesn't have an S-video output, but if it has an RCA jack go to Settings - Advanced - twin view - clone and it will run RCA compatible video out that port. If it doesn't have an RCA jack you can buy a converter unit (whose name escapes me right now, but I'll look it up and report back) that will take the computer video output in one side and give you RCA output the other side. These units are quite cheap. I used to use one for presentations until I got a laptop with an external RCA jack. (As suggested above, some computers will let you cycle through output possibilities with one of the function keys, but that probably won't give you RCA output. To use the converter unit you still have to tell it to send output to the external RCA jack, which is what the F3 or whatever key does.)

That just solves the video problem. You may also need a special cord that goes from the audio output for your headphones (small jack) to the video input on your televison (big jack.) Those cords are available at places like Radio Shack.

If your DVD is Region 2, that's another problem. You can set your DVD program on the laptop to region 2, but Beware! It will probably only let you reset it two or three times and then it willl freeze you into that region, so you might want to consider copying the DVD onto a VHS. Just run the RCA plug into your VCR (assuming you have solved the first problem.)
__________________
"This land is your land,
this land is my land..."
Woody Guthrie

Last edited by another okie; 08-09-2004 at 13:29..
another okie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 14:47   #10
solie
Senior Member
 
solie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 827
Send a message via AIM to solie
not to hijack the thread but I tried hooking my laptop up to the tv through the s-video and it looked like manure
solie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 16:41   #11
chevrofreak
Senior Member
 
chevrofreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Billings, Montana
Posts: 9,364


Quote:
Originally posted by solie
not to hijack the thread but I tried hooking my laptop up to the tv through the s-video and it looked like manure
Usually the screen needs adjusted a lot, and sometimes you have to fool around with settings to get the flicker out. I have my computer hooked to my TV all the time, its just a matter of getting the settings to work for you.
__________________
smoke free since 4:58AM July 29th 2002!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
<-- currently 0 auction(s) running

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
The best IWB holster money can buy!
chevrofreak is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 14:24.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 991
258 Members
733 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31