GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2004, 17:51   #1
Viper_Audio
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 605
UPDATE on Failed HDD using RAID 1

I rebooted again, and the exact words are "Incomplete Raid Set - press F4". I did this and it has some options. The help screen suggests to Create a RAID set.

I press "Create RAID set", and it says "Not enough physical drives exist!"

I press "Logical Drive Info", and it shows this:

0 ST380023AS Dropped
1 ST380023AS CURRENT

So I assume this means my "0" Hard Drive failed?

Can I buy a similar HDD (West Digital 80 Gig SATA) and just swap it? Or do I have to buy 2 new ones for them to be Identical?

Thanks
Viper_Audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 18:52   #2
HerrGlock
CLM Number 2
Scouts Out
 
HerrGlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64,487


This is what RAID is all about. Keeping data without worrying too much about hardware failure. It works, eh? ;f

If you're happy with 80 Gig, then just get a replacement. The only reason I could think to get a larger set is if you wanted more space.

DanH
__________________
Sent from my rotary phone
"The way I see it as soon as a baby is born, he should be issued a banjo!"- Linus Van Pelt
UNIX - Not just for Vestal Virgins any more
HerrGlock is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 19:52.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,498
430 Members
1,068 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42