GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2004, 18:19   #1
Cinic
Spongy Member
 
Cinic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2,420
Send a message via Yahoo to Cinic


Word / Excel Question

I want to change the default document location for Word and Excel. The place to do it is in the Tools>Options menu. However, we have several network drives in the office and I'm always opening or saving in a different place. I'd like the default location to be essentially 'My Computer' in lieu of a specific folder on one drive. I have no idea how to do this or if it is even possible.

I figured out how to make Windows Explorer to this, but can't get these applications to comply.

Anyone have any suggestions?

_John
__________________
G23, G27
Cinic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 19:05   #2
NetNinja
Always Faithful
 
NetNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: HotLanta, GA
Posts: 2,424
Google me this , Google me that.

For Excel

From the Tools menu, select Options, General tab.
A new Excel file is automatically saved for the first time (if you have not specified a location on the hard disk) in the My Documents folder on the C: drive.
Change the default location as desired.

For Word

Changing the Default Directory
To change the default directory that appears when you click Open on the File menu, use either of the following methods.

Method 1: Manually change the default directory.

1. On the Tools menu, click Options.
2. Select the File Locations tab.
3. Under File types, select Documents, and then click Modify.
4. Change to the location you want.
__________________
G17,G22,G30,Sig P229 Sport
Kimber CC Series 1,Kimber CCR Series 1
SA TRP Operator SA 1911A1
S&W 1911, 686, M19, 627VComp,ColtDE10mm
Anschutz 1813 Super Match
NetNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 20:48   #3
kage
proveyourealive
 
kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 55
I think the last post missed the important part of your question - I can't think of a way to do it directly off hand, but I guess you could create a folder somewhere on your hard drive that contains shortcuts to your network drives/frequently used folders, and use that folder as your default directory. It could look just like the list in "My Computer," without actually linking to it.
kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 08:35   #4
Cinic
Spongy Member
 
Cinic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2,420
Send a message via Yahoo to Cinic


Read the question once. Read the question again.

Thanks for the idea kage, it worked great for opening documents. I just wish there was a way for the 'working folder' to be changed to that same folder when the 'save as' function is used. It appears that once you open a file in any folder, that folder becomes the working folder.

Thanks again.

_John
__________________
G23, G27
Cinic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 20:34.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,509
475 Members
1,034 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42