GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2004, 09:07   #1
Nigel_C
Senior Member
 
Nigel_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: North Florida
Posts: 1,168
Norton Antivirus Help

The auto Protect option on my NAV has been shut off...
I fixed it once before with a reboot, but now tha tdoesnot fix it.

When I try to reenable it I get an unspecified error

res://C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVUI.dll/navstats.htm

Any ideas how to fix it without having to use 12ga slug ?

thanks

nigel
__________________
Big Dawg # 128
NRA Member
http://www.fdcc.us
Nigel_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 10:51   #2
fastvfr
Ancient Tech
 
fastvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SW Oregon
Posts: 3,146
Send a message via Yahoo to fastvfr
Navigate to Start> Settings> Control Panel> Add & Remove Programs> and delete that application, as well as its LiveUpdate entry and any other reference to it.

Ideally, you should use one of the better free AV apps out there, but at that point you can reboot and reinstall NAV.

If you really want to.

Better yet, talk to someone at your work who you really don't like much, and make them a "Real Good Deal" on your Norton disks.

I make over 1/4 of my income from removing this pernicious program from people's PC's, sometimes for more $$$ than they spent on the %#@$& thing!!

It can cause that much damage.

Good luck with whatever you decide, but it absolutely needs a minimum of a total rip & reinstall.

FastVFR
fastvfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 20:03   #3
vitotelephono
Senior Member
 
vitotelephono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 200
Not sure which Norton you are running but you will have to go into the registry to clean it up all vestiges of the older antivirus products like Corporate Edition 7.5 and 7.6.

Look here:

http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/ent...roduct_kb.html
vitotelephono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 14:51   #4
DeadMansLife
Senior Member
 
DeadMansLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Carlisle, PA
Posts: 2,117
SP2

If you've downloaded SP2 check ALL of your NAV settings. Also check your computer settings starting with the time/date.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
[/B] *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
*
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
DeadMansLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 21:57   #5
fiberpig
Senior Member
 
fiberpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NE PA...1.5 hrs. north of Phiily
Posts: 408
Remove norton, get AVG free version, it's excellent, also get A2 Squared, it's another antivirus/malware program, download the free version of that also...their both excellent and FREE.
__________________
Member Sub club...Member .40 club...Member 9'er's club, PA Club... ...GLOCK ROCKS !!!!!!
fiberpig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 18:52   #6
glocka
Registered User
 
glocka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Taxachusetts
Posts: 1,247
;Q Hi Nigel_C. I've about had it with norton myself.When I down loaded my latest update,I got the same error message and it also seemed to disconnect my auto protect.After several attempts to remedy the problem,I finally had to go to computer restore.I took it to the time before the last down loaded update and that permitted me to go back to my auto protect.Buttt,there's still some problems.I've gotten error messages before,that I temporarily fixed by taking out the program and putting it back in.Whatta pain in the ass!!It's coming up to the in of my subscription and I don't think I'll be re-uping with norton again.They don't seem to stand behind their product.My e-mail to them was a waste of time.My wife got us the adware.sah agent program that I can't seem to get rid of,only parts of it. Norton has some steps to remove this program,buttt,their help didn't work.Good luck with your decision.I'm going with somebody else...^3
glocka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 05:39   #7
Nigel_C
Senior Member
 
Nigel_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: North Florida
Posts: 1,168
I found a temp fix.. I have to restart the Norton Autoprotect Service each time I boot the PC.I have a few months left on my NAV subscription, after that I'll probably dump it and go McAfee or something.

Maybe I'll just move to a log cabin in the woods and forget about computers.
__________________
Big Dawg # 128
NRA Member
http://www.fdcc.us
Nigel_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 14:32   #8
glocka
Registered User
 
glocka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Taxachusetts
Posts: 1,247
I hear ya...^c ~1 ^3 ^3
glocka is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 513
110 Members
403 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31