GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2004, 10:50   #1
Ragin Cajun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Upstate South Carolina
Posts: 1,001
Digitizing 35mm slides

I have a bunch of older 35mm slides. I would like to digitize some of them. I notice Costco.com has the following:

http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product...C&topnav=&cat=

Pacific Image PrimeFilm 35mm Film & Slide Scanner 1800U
Adobe Photoshop Album 1.0 Software for Windows included

35 mm film and slide scanner: scans slides and negatives
Linear array color CCD
36 bits per pixel color mode
12-bit per pixel grayscale mode
Optical resolution: 1800 dpi
(or 4.2 million pixels for a 35mm x 24mm image)
Maximum resolution: 19200 x 19200 dpi
(software enhanced)
Light source: Cold cathode fluorescent lamp
Scanning buffer: 512 K byte
Preview speed: approximately 10 seconds for color
Scanning speed: approximately 35 seconds
Maximum scanning area: 36mm x 24mm
USB interface
Microsoft XP® compatible
Microsoft ME compatible
Included software: Adobe Photoshop Album 1.0; Pacific Image CyberView; TWAIN-compliant driver for PC; plug-in for Mac; Presto Pagemanager (with image folio); Mr. Photo (with photo album)
Package includes: Film scanner, USB cable, power adaptor, driver, user's manual, warranty card and quick installation guide
Dimensions: 10.55" x 6.54" x 2.60"
Weight: 1.65 lbs.

$99.99 Shipping & Handling included

Item # 423427


Has anybody used this unit? How big are the files? My Olympus 3.2 mega pixle files are generally under 500K each and print very well at 8X10.


I'm not looking to do anything fancy, just the basics. $99 to my door sure is looking good. I don't think I need the 3600 dpi ones.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
"I don't want you to go out there and die for your country.
I want you to make the other guy die for his country." Gen. Patton
Ragin Cajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 17:07   #2
greenlead
Senior Member
 
greenlead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 432
Many scanners have 35mm adapters. Shop around.
__________________
:) Relax! The handcuffs are tight because they're new; they'll stretch out after you wear them for a while.
greenlead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 18:11   #3
308endurdebate
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 138
Re: Digitizing 35mm slides

Quote:
Originally posted by Ragin Cajun
I have a bunch of older 35mm slides. I would like to digitize some of them. I notice Costco.com has the following:

STUFF DELETEED

Has anybody used this unit? How big are the files? My Olympus 3.2 mega pixle files are generally under 500K each and print very well at 8X10.


I'm not looking to do anything fancy, just the basics. $99 to my door sure is looking good. I don't think I need the 3600 dpi ones.

Thanks in advance.
"Bunch" would imply using an automated scanner. I purchased the DIMAGE Scanner III for my dad for Xmas 03. Works great, just a little more expensive, but the time saved (it scans a negative strip or multiple slides in a holder) vice manual scanning is a killer. As far as size, depends on resolution and compression.

If your slides or negatives were faster than 100, 3600 dpi is probably to high, since there is noise. Especially 400 and 800 (but those would be for negatives). Ektachrome 100 and Kodachrome 64 (more likely since you say older) are fairly fine grain and can benefit from higher resolution.

-ken
308endurdebate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 07:34   #4
Texas T
CLM Number 23
TX expatriate
 
Texas T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: W7YBY
Posts: 12,095


Re: Re: Digitizing 35mm slides

Quote:
Originally posted by 308endurdebate
Ektachrome 100 and Kodachrome 64 (more likely since you say older) are fairly fine grain and can benefit from higher resolution.
Ken, most of my dad's slides are from the 50's and 60's and they say Kodachrome (no mention of 64) on the slides themselves. To do the same thing that Ragin is doing are you suggesting that the 3600dpi will give me better results? Thanks


T
__________________
"A gun is a tool, Marion. No better and no worse than any other tool - an axe, a shovel, or anything.
A gun is as good or as bad as the man using it. Remember that." Alan Ladd as Shane (1953)

NRA Life Benefactor Member, AMA Champion Member, AOPA Member, ARRL Member, GOA Life Member
Texas T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 07:58   #5
Ragin Cajun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Upstate South Carolina
Posts: 1,001
What about file size? In looking at the specs of various slide scanners the file sizes appear to be HUGE compared to the file size used my my digital camera. What gives???

BTW, I have many slides but will only digitize some.
__________________
"I don't want you to go out there and die for your country.
I want you to make the other guy die for his country." Gen. Patton
Ragin Cajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 08:25   #6
hwyhobo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,442


There is no magic when comes to file sizes. Scanned image size = DPI * SurfaceArea_in_Square_Inches * 12_bit_depth. Your camera is probably set to produce highly compressed (in a lossy format) jpeg images, perhaps in lower than high quality.

The good news is, after you process your image in a lossles, high quality format, you can save for the web display in jpeg. Keep the large lossles images for the future. Blank CDs are not exactly expensive these days.
hwyhobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 21:11   #7
308endurdebate
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 138
Re: Re: Re: Digitizing 35mm slides

Quote:
Originally posted by Texas T
Ken, most of my dad's slides are from the 50's and 60's and they say Kodachrome (no mention of 64) on the slides themselves. To do the same thing that Ragin is doing are you suggesting that the 3600dpi will give me better results? Thanks


T
That is fairly old, I haven't scanned those, but I know that the older films were grainier. Kodachrome 64 (some slower) is the most common slides my dad used in the 70s, 80s. Print film negative scans of 60's film was ok at high resolution, but IMO should be saved at higher compression as they didn't have near the quality (grain and contrasting) as todays films.

If you have really good quality slides, then high res, with low compression is worthwhile. Buy a DVD burner.

-ken
308endurdebate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 21:18   #8
308endurdebate
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally posted by hwyhobo
There is no magic when comes to file sizes. Scanned image size = DPI * SurfaceArea_in_Square_Inches * 12_bit_depth. Your camera is probably set to produce highly compressed (in a lossy format) jpeg images, perhaps in lower than high quality.
small calculation error

actually, RAW size(KB) = dpi * area * color_bit_depth * scan_colors / 8

you get at least 3 scan_colors (R/G/B).

-k
308endurdebate is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 657
129 Members
528 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31