GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2004, 15:08   #1
plato
softie
 
plato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: depths of despair
Posts: 1,113
pr.php? HyperText Transfer Protocol?

I am seeing a little RED x instead of seeing an image of some words that I normally see. I think that it's a HyperText Transfer Protocol pr.php type IMAGE.

Java settings?

IE 6.0 settings?

Privacy settings?

Security settings?

It's a 28 x 30 pixels image.

Tech Talk

The RED x above is just a "screen shot" and not the real image in question.

Help? Haha.
plato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 15:27   #2
sandboy6184
Senior Member
 
sandboy6184's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 196
Send a message via AIM to sandboy6184
Re: pr.php? HyperText Transfer Protocol?

Quote:
Originally posted by plato
I am seeing a little RED x instead of seeing an image of some words that I normally see. I think that it's a HyperText Transfer Protocol pr.php type IMAGE.

Java settings?

IE 6.0 settings?

Privacy settings?

Security settings?

It's a 28 x 30 pixels image.

Tech Talk

The RED x above is just a "screen shot" and not the real image in question.

Help? Haha.
red X means the image isnt on the server anymore that its linked to in the source page.
sandboy6184 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 15:37   #3
David_G17
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
 
David_G17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,678
Re: pr.php? HyperText Transfer Protocol?

Quote:
Originally posted by plato
I am seeing a little RED x instead of seeing an image of some words that I normally see. I think that it's a HyperText Transfer Protocol pr.php type IMAGE.
http (hyper text transfer protocol) is just a language used by computers to talk to each other. that's why all websites, even GT, begin with "http".

pr.php is a file name for a file written in a language called PHP. It can be used to access databases (like when you fill out a form to buy something online), adjust cookies, login/logout, etc.

someone will probably point out why some of that is technically wrong, but it might help you out a little.

neither phrase has anything to do with your problem.
__________________
"One handgun a month is too much."
"If you ask me, 12 handguns/year is too much."
"I'd be OK with one gun a year."
"We need the strong gun regs and enforcement Europe has."
-DU debates America's future 10/23/2005
David_G17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 15:39   #4
plato
softie
 
plato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: depths of despair
Posts: 1,113
So, it's not my settings then but their issue, their problem?

Cause I felt that this happened right after my last update/upgrade of SpywareBlaster.

I thought that I may be blocking the image myself.

Also, I updated my JAVA??
plato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 16:53   #5
HerrGlock
CLM Number 2
Scouts Out
 
HerrGlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64,493


Quote:
Originally posted by plato
So, it's not my settings then but their issue, their problem?
If you can see smilies, people's avatars, the submit and preview buttons and the ads at the top of the page, you're not blocking graphics.

The red X means the pic is no longer on the server it was on or has been renamed and the image link is bad as said above.

Go to google.com and see if you can see the graphic above the text box.
DanH
__________________
Sent from my rotary phone
"The way I see it as soon as a baby is born, he should be issued a banjo!"- Linus Van Pelt
UNIX - Not just for Vestal Virgins any more
HerrGlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 17:10   #6
fastvfr
Ancient Tech
 
fastvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SW Oregon
Posts: 3,146
Send a message via Yahoo to fastvfr
I always use the real Java instead of M$'s crappy Virtual Machine version, but it needs to be housebroken.

I always turn off Java's ability to put anything on the taskbar/tray, as well as its ability to Cache or Auto Update.

This helps the PC's online interactivity/operations immensely, but probably has nothing to do with the problems you are having with this image.

Can you run a Google image search for it and find another copy elsewhere? Or is it embedded in Web pages somewhere? Give us an idea of where you are seeing them if that's the case.

And more importantly, WHY are you using IE in this day and age?!

If you are using XP, did you install Service Pack II?

Good luck,

FastVFR
fastvfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 17:33   #7
plato
softie
 
plato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: depths of despair
Posts: 1,113
Quote:
If you are using XP, did you install Service Pack II?
No. I'm kinda scared to make the upgrade.

I turned off my MS windows update.

I'm on dial up. It would take a week to download SP2.
plato is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:48.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 668
173 Members
495 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31