GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2004, 23:22   #1
glockess56
CLM Number 295
Charter Lifetime Member
 
glockess56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Posts: 1,331
Dell Trouble?

Has anyone had trouble with their DELL pc's? I've had mine for six months and it goes off and I can't get it back on. I've called/emailed, etc about five times. They tell me to plug/unplug it from the wall and to unplug/plug it from the cpu tower, etc. After that, it doesn't work again. I get a new computer and I have to do all that to keep it up and running? Has anyone else had this problem with DELL pcs? Mine is the DELL Dimension 8300. I'd be anxious to hear any suggestions. I get tired of call their tech service people and waiting for ever on the phone.
glockess56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 00:09   #2
MrsKitty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: >^..^<
Posts: 47,673
Bad power supply?

I would call and "suggest" that they start attempting to REPAIR my computer. If calling don't work, write.
__________________
to cry with a friend is a warm hug..no words need to be spoken... --bob
Woof, Woof!
MrsKitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 09:40   #3
BikerGoddess
Got hairspray?
 
BikerGoddess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,900
I've found it can take upwards of 45 seconds for mine to come back on after I've opened the lid. Is yours doing that or does it just go out while you're working?

I have the Latitude and have been though several (almost a dozen swaps in 3 years). Last time I wasn't able to run it on the power supply, battery only. Fortunately, it's a work machine and I just take it in and ask for a new one.

Laura
__________________
"You know what separates the winners from the losers, kid?" - Coach McGinty
"The score." - Shane Falco


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
BikerGoddess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 11:04   #4
Glock Bob
Snack Attack!!!
 
Glock Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,076
I've had my 8100 for over 3 years. Best PC I've ever had.

When you say it "goes off", do you mean after you shut it down, or it just shuts off by itself?
__________________
In memory of Christopher James Roy, killed in action, November 28, 2005, and Eric Harless, taken by cancer April 29, 2006. We hardly knew you. May you each rest in peace.
Glock Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 18:53   #5
glockess56
CLM Number 295
Charter Lifetime Member
 
glockess56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Posts: 1,331
My desktop dimension 8600 shuts off by itself if I don't shut it down. Then, when I push the little button in the middle to activate it, nothing happens. Some times a uh uh groaning sound happens. Sometimes, though, it even works. The last two days it has worked. That's what I mean by it shutting down.
glockess56 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:10.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 809
179 Members
630 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42