Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2004, 18:14   #1
lomfs24
Senior Member
 
lomfs24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 4,838
Send a message via AIM to lomfs24 Send a message via Yahoo to lomfs24
Knoppix 3.7

I just downloaded Knoppix 3.7. Where is the install feature you talked about Washington DC?

I think I am going to throw it on a test machine.
__________________
The simple believeth every word: but the prudent man looketh well to his going. ~Proverbs 14:15
lomfs24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 18:26   #2
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Okay for the hard drive install.After you get it booted to the 26 kernel in English.Log on as root and password root at boot of CD.Open a terminal type "knoppix-installer" press the Enter key.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 18:28   #3
lomfs24
Senior Member
 
lomfs24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 4,838
Send a message via AIM to lomfs24 Send a message via Yahoo to lomfs24
OK I thought you said there was a new way. I guess it might be one of the options in the installer. I will just press ahead then. Thanks.
__________________
The simple believeth every word: but the prudent man looketh well to his going. ~Proverbs 14:15
lomfs24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 18:35   #4
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Yes there are three opitions in the installer,New installer is recomended.Old installer is Debian way and third is install to run as live CD from hard drive.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 17:42   #5
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
How did the install go on your machine?Were you able to get the sound to work?
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 17:47   #6
lomfs24
Senior Member
 
lomfs24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 4,838
Send a message via AIM to lomfs24 Send a message via Yahoo to lomfs24
I didn't actually get it to install. It wouldn't boot up. It would boot into a very limited shell. I don't think I have enough ram for the whole GUI. It's funny though that it will run Win98.

It will boot Knoppix-STD fine though with the fluxbox GUI.

I will keep working on it though
__________________
The simple believeth every word: but the prudent man looketh well to his going. ~Proverbs 14:15
lomfs24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 18:40   #7
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Yes the live CD's require a bit of memory.I have Knoppix STD 0.1 and an earlier Knoppix STD 0.1b,which I think is the beta but it's a much larger iso.Kanotix 9A I think needs lots of memory but Mepis 2004.04 might be the most functional.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 22:06   #8
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
I got Knoppix 3.6 to install without any trouble.When I tried Knoppix 3.7 I kept having problems installing when I booted the CD with kernel 2.6.I finally got Knoppix 3.7 to install by booting the CD with the 2.4 kernel.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 03:16   #9
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Knoppix 3.8 is available now.It's the Cebit Edition and defaults with a German keymap.To switch to English,at boot,type # knoppix lang=us #.To get = on German keymap type shift+0(zero).There is only one kernel.It's kernel 2.6.11.There's no 2.4 kernel option this time.I have it running on my hard drive now.Download it here http://debian.tu-bs.de/knoppix_cd/ce..._3.8_Cebit.iso
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 07:44   #10
greenlead
Senior Member
 
greenlead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 428
You will probably need at least 64 megs of RAM to do much of anything with live CD's.
__________________
:) Relax! The handcuffs are tight because they're new; they'll stretch out after you wear them for a while.
greenlead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2005, 14:59   #11
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Knoppix searches your hard drive(s) for a Linux swap partition and will use it if it finds one.This makes the live cd run much faster.I have a live CD with anti virus installed as a cd iso image on an external hard drive.The hard drive also has a swap partition.I can use it on PC's that boot from USB or I can boot it with a floppy.The reason I keep it as an iso image is so it has automatic hardware detection.I can use it on many PC's.I can scan Windows without booting Windows and it makes it eaier to find and remove a virus.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 13:31   #12
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Quote:
Originally posted by lomfs24
I didn't actually get it to install. It wouldn't boot up. It would boot into a very limited shell. I don't think I have enough ram for the whole GUI. It's funny though that it will run Win98.

It will boot Knoppix-STD fine though with the fluxbox GUI.

I will keep working on it though
XFLD is a Knoppix based live CD with a lightweight desktop.It doesn't require as much RAM and is fairly fast.You can download it here http://debian.pffa.de/mirrors/xfld/0.2/xfld-0_2-en.iso
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 17:21   #13
BurningDog
Senior Member
 
BurningDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally posted by greenlead
You will probably need at least 64 megs of RAM to do much of anything with live CD's.
Not necessarily... check out http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/ (I hope that doesn't get filtered)
BurningDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 17:31   #14
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Feather Linux is super light and a bit more functional than the really small distros http://featherlinux.berlios.de/about.htm
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 01:23   #15
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
On systems with min memory I found it's helpful to boot in text mode.This is done by typing "knoppix 2" at boot and press Enter/Return..Then install using "knoppix-installer".Knoppix 3.6 works fine but version 3.7 seems to have an install bug.Some systems will work but not as many as 3.6 which works fine.Version 3.8 only has one kernel and it's 2.6.11.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 18:48.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,180
362 Members
818 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31