Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2004, 08:19   #1
Tennessee Slim
CLM Number 93
Señor Member
 
Tennessee Slim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mucus City, USA
Posts: 6,685
New Spyware Record

I agreed to check out the PC of a friend of a friend because the non-stop torrent of pop-ups was killing him. I loaded AdAware Pro on his system and started a complete system scan. It would get to the IE temp files directory and bog down. There was still disk activity and Perf Meter showed it was still pulling CPU, but it sat for a couple of hours without the GUI showing any progress. So, thinking my copy of the install file was wonky, I killed the app, uninstalled it, downloaded and installed a fresh copy of AdAware Personal. It bogged at exactly the same spot. So I killed the app again, deleted all offline content, then restarted the AdAware. It still bogged in the same spot.

“Ah!” sez I, “I think this is a clue.” I restarted it and told the guy to let it run all night and E-mail me in the morning what it was doing. Next morning he sent a message saying it had completed the scan and the message was: “40,168 New Critical Objects”. ;g
__________________
It took a Carter to bring us a Reagan

"The principal feature of American liberalism is sanctimoniousness. By loudly denouncing all bad things — war and hunger and date rape — liberals testify to their own terrific goodness. More important, they promote themselves to membership in a self-selecting elite of those who care deeply about such things.... It's a kind of natural aristocracy, and the wonderful thing about this aristocracy is that you don't have to be brave, smart, strong or even lucky to join it, you just have to be liberal."
-- P.J. O'Rourke (1992)

Last edited by Tennessee Slim; 11-05-2004 at 08:23..
Tennessee Slim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 09:02   #2
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
CCleaner will dumb the temp files and some adware/spyware very quickly.Then I run Spybot and AdAware.After both CCleaner and Spybot,AdAware normally finds very little or nothing at all.CCleaner is small and very fast.

Last edited by Washington,D.C.; 11-05-2004 at 09:13..
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 09:09   #3
HerrGlock
CLM Number 2
Scouts Out
 
HerrGlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64,487


Tech Talk

;f

DanH
__________________
Sent from my rotary phone
"The way I see it as soon as a baby is born, he should be issued a banjo!"- Linus Van Pelt
UNIX - Not just for Vestal Virgins any more
HerrGlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 13:03   #4
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Wow on AdAware you have to check all of those boxes.Spybot checks them for you.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 13:40   #5
Tvov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: CT,USA
Posts: 4,925
;G

Wow.

I usually just run AdAware on the default setting, don't bother checking boxes.
Tvov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 15:22   #6
Cinic
Spongy Member
 
Cinic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2,448
Send a message via Yahoo to Cinic


Quote:
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
Wow on AdAware you have to check all of those boxes.Spybot checks them for you.
If you right-click over one of them there is an option to select all.
__________________
G23, G27
Cinic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 15:27   #7
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
I run CCleaner first and I never have many to check in AdAware.I'll try that next time.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 16:02   #8
Tvov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: CT,USA
Posts: 4,925
Quote:
Originally posted by Cinic
If you right-click over one of them there is an option to select all.
Oh, I thought he was talking about selecting what AdAware was going to scan.
Tvov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 19:43   #9
Texas T
CLM Number 23
TX expatriate
 
Texas T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: W7YBY
Posts: 12,095


Re: New Spyware Record

Quote:
Originally posted by Tennessee Slim
Next morning he sent a message saying it had completed the scan and the message was: “40,168 New Critical Objects”. ;g
Did you respond by telling him to get a girlfriend and stop downloading porn off the net?

;z
__________________
"A gun is a tool, Marion. No better and no worse than any other tool - an axe, a shovel, or anything.
A gun is as good or as bad as the man using it. Remember that." Alan Ladd as Shane (1953)

NRA Life Benefactor Member, AMA Champion Member, AOPA Member, ARRL Member, GOA Life Member
Texas T is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 14:23.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,188
319 Members
869 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31