Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2004, 19:07   #1
wrenrj1
Senior Member
 
wrenrj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huskerville
Posts: 10,398
Laptop won't boot up, HELP!

We have a Dell Latitude 600 laptop that hasn't been used in some time. My wife was gonna give it to someone so she was gonna take off anything that she had on the computer.

Upon booting up the message "Invalid system disk, Replace the disk, then press any key." There is no disk in the floppy drive, which is a drive that can be taken out and replaced with the CD ROM drive. I've tried rebooting without this drive inserted to no avail.

Any ideas of what may be wrong and how to fix it? Thanks.
__________________
We are told by our government NOT to judge Muslims by the actions of a few crazies. We are also told by this same government TO judge ALL gun owners by the actions of a few crazies.
wrenrj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 21:58   #2
NetNinja
Always Faithful
 
NetNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: HotLanta, GA
Posts: 2,425
Well if you haven't booted the Laptop in some time and it seems like an older model the Hard Drive may have crapped itself out.

No Biggie.

Just pull the hard Drive and have the person you are going to hand it to buy themsleves a replacement HD.

Turn it over and look for a Cylinder looking Icon.
It will most likely be by the Ednge of the Laptop.

Unscrew the One screw that is holding the tray and slide it out.
unscrew the Hard drive from the tray and throw it out.

Put the HD tray back into the Laptop and screw it in.


WaLa!

Now to get yourself a replacement HD go to www.prcewatch.com and look for laptop Hard Drives. 2.5 inch.

Depending on the laptop model and what type of processor you are going to be limited on how large a replacement HD you are going to need.
I think if it's a pentiumII you may be limited to 20GB hard drive.

If you have a Pentium III processor get yourself a 40GB. I think you will be fine on that.

Now your choice of OS (operating System) may be limited to the speed of the Processor.
400Mhz is pushing it on a 400Mhz or below model for Windows 2000.

If you are thinking of putting XP on the Laptop you may SOL.

Good Luck
__________________
G17,G22,G30,Sig P229 Sport
Kimber CC Series 1,Kimber CCR Series 1
SA TRP Operator SA 1911A1
S&W 1911, 686, M19, 627VComp,ColtDE10mm
Anschutz 1813 Super Match

Last edited by NetNinja; 11-09-2004 at 22:09..
NetNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 22:41   #3
kevfan
Senior Member
 
kevfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 143
You might want to make sure that in the BIOS, the Hard Drive is still an option. If the laptop was not run in a long time, it may have it's BIOS set back and possibly could have lost it's hard drive settings.
kevfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 09:42   #4
wrenrj1
Senior Member
 
wrenrj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huskerville
Posts: 10,398
How do I get to the bios to determine if settings are correct? I can get into setup.
__________________
We are told by our government NOT to judge Muslims by the actions of a few crazies. We are also told by this same government TO judge ALL gun owners by the actions of a few crazies.
wrenrj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 10:00   #5
klmmicro
Senior Member
 
klmmicro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South End of the Left Coast
Posts: 2,582
Send a message via Yahoo to klmmicro


Hit F2 as the system first starts booting booting. That will dump you to Dell's bios screen. We had a laptop here do the same thing. Apperantly the bios battery went dead and Dell told us we would have to leave the unit OFF while it charged for 24 hours. Then we would need to reconfigure the bios.
__________________
"The sword that cuts down evil is the sword that gives life"

*10 Ring, MBR and Reloading Clubs: #436*
klmmicro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 18:56   #6
wrenrj1
Senior Member
 
wrenrj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huskerville
Posts: 10,398
Funny thing is, is that my wife plugged it in she tells me and it worked for a while. It's when she turned it off, then came back to it is when this started. I'll leave it plugged in till tomorrow and see what happens. I can get into the bios with no problems, but don't know what I'm looking for when I get there. It still shows the floppy, HD, then the CD rom as the first thru third in booting up if that has anything to do with it.
__________________
We are told by our government NOT to judge Muslims by the actions of a few crazies. We are also told by this same government TO judge ALL gun owners by the actions of a few crazies.
wrenrj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 01:33   #7
greenlead
Senior Member
 
greenlead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 428
Quote:
Originally posted by wrenrj1
Funny thing is, is that my wife plugged it in she tells me and it worked for a while. It's when she turned it off, then came back to it is when this started. I'll leave it plugged in till tomorrow and see what happens. I can get into the bios with no problems, but don't know what I'm looking for when I get there. It still shows the floppy, HD, then the CD rom as the first thru third in booting up if that has anything to do with it.
this is going to sound like a dumb question, but I'll ask it anyway:
Did your wife shut the computer down properly? If you shut it down while it is writing to the hard drive, you have the chance of messing up data on the drive, including the MBR (Master Boot Record), which tells BIOS which operating system to start.
__________________
:) Relax! The handcuffs are tight because they're new; they'll stretch out after you wear them for a while.
greenlead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 09:51   #8
wrenrj1
Senior Member
 
wrenrj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huskerville
Posts: 10,398
The wife is not shure, however she doesn't recall doing anything differently than normal. She works at a computer most of the day.

Still no results after letting it charge up. So, am I hosed? or is this something that needs to have everything installed again and it'll be up and running? i.e. is this now a hardware or software issue?
__________________
We are told by our government NOT to judge Muslims by the actions of a few crazies. We are also told by this same government TO judge ALL gun owners by the actions of a few crazies.
wrenrj1 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 20:50.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,290
381 Members
909 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31