GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2004, 12:20   #1
noneyet
Senior Member
 
noneyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: I don't know
Posts: 442
Processor Upgrade

Ok so thanks to Washington D.C. I have sucessfully killed the viruses on my laptop, I think, so thanks for the help my friend. On to my next question, I have an emachines desktop running a 766ghz intell celeron processor and 191MB ram, and I want to install a DVD burner in it. In youralls expert opinion is this fast enough? I don't want to do anything else with it except to burn DVDs (to back up data of course), so I don't care if it will be slow. Also would it be worth upgrading the processor, and is that even possible. Thanks for you help already.
__________________
"Oh no, it's the cops."

"We're going to assume that everyone has guns and crack"
noneyet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2004, 12:44   #2
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
It should be enough to burn DVD's.I think you might be able to upgrade to 1.4 Ghz celeron for about $50 if your Celeron is an FC-PGA-2 but you very likely have a slot 1 Celeron.If it is a slot one it can't be upgraded much and isn't worth the trouble.I wouldn't spend the money on a faster Celeron.Some more memory would be better than a faster a processeor.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 07:20   #3
noneyet
Senior Member
 
noneyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: I don't know
Posts: 442
Thanks for your help my friend, thats exactly the kind of informaion I was looking for.
__________________
"Oh no, it's the cops."

"We're going to assume that everyone has guns and crack"
noneyet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 20:29   #4
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
I was just looking at a 16X TDK DVD RW.It's a $170 dual layer one.It says minimum requirements are a Pentium III 800 Mhz.I haven't seen this on any others.Mininum ram is 128mb.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 15:42   #5
noneyet
Senior Member
 
noneyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: I don't know
Posts: 442
Thanks for your help, by the way, what do you think about this one:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...8&sku=U10-9012

I know that its cheap and all but I dont need the best of the best by any means.
__________________
"Oh no, it's the cops."

"We're going to assume that everyone has guns and crack"
noneyet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 15:51   #6
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
It's a good one.Make sure it includes all of the software http://www.nec.co.uk/DVD_RW_ND3500.aspx
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 15:52   #7
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
System requirements located here http://www.necsam.com/optical/products/ND3500A/
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 15:57   #8
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Firmware update is here http://support.necsam.com/OEM/downlo...eadme.asp?ID=6
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 15:59   #9
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
http://support.necsam.com/oem/cd-rom/nd3500a/
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 16:12   #10
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
User's manual http://www.de.nec.de/software/1676_MultiDVD.pdf
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 16:17   #11
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Quick start guide http://support.necsam.com/oem/cd-rom...-90001-000.pdf
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 16:31   #12
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Okay I found the requirements.It might not work with your PC.Requirements-Pentium III 800 Mhz or AMD Athlon 800 Mhz or faster for video/menu authoring.Memory must be at least 256 mb,512 mb recomended.Software requires 400 Mb hard disks space.For burning capture from Digital Video a Pentium 4 1.8 Ghz or Athlon 1.7 Ghz is required.5.0 gb hard disk space for video capture and 5.0 gb disk space required for DVD burning.10 gb required for dual layer.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 16:53   #13
noneyet
Senior Member
 
noneyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: I don't know
Posts: 442
man thanks for all the information, but it looks like it wont work, I dont meet any of those requriments. I only have a 191MB of ram and can only upgrade to 256 and a 766mhz celeron processor, looks like I will have to keep shoping.
__________________
"Oh no, it's the cops."

"We're going to assume that everyone has guns and crack"
noneyet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 16:57   #14
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
See if you can check the older slower DVD burners.Dual layer media is too expensive and doesn't save anything but a bit of space.The blank disks are 5 times the price of single sided DVD's.I have an older PC with a Pentium III 733 Mhz.It's DVD burner is old but works fine.It's has 256 mb of memory.The 4x,8x and 12x burners can be had for about $50 these days.A really nice one might be $80.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 679
185 Members
494 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42