Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2004, 21:13   #1
Alogusz
Senior Member
 
Alogusz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 578
USB problems

I have a Dell Latitude 100L laptop.
Yesterday as I turned it on the USB ports wouldn't work (no mouse or printer)
The optical mouse would flash when plugged in, but the light would never stay on like normal.
After finally running the dianostic program it came up w/
the USB controllers have 2 errors:
1.
USB Controller 0 - Register Test : FAIL
Result Code: 4E00-011C
Msg: Register #0 read or write failed Found:40h Expected:00h
and
2.
4E00 0224 FRNUM and some weird computer stuff I don't understand.

I tried unistalling the USB stuff and rebooting etc, but that didn't help.

Has anyone ever seen this before?
Damn, I hope I don't have to send it in.

Alogusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 00:01   #2
dpesec
Member
 
dpesec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to dpesec Send a message via Yahoo to dpesec
USB issue

I'm not sure if you deleted the devices or just reinstalled the USB software.
I'd suggest deleting the USB hardware and leaving Windows "rediscover" it.
I've seen this cure many a problem
dpesec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 09:17   #3
RaiderRodney
Just Win Baby
 
RaiderRodney's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 660
You didn't by chance put SP2 on it did you? It wreaked hell on ALL my plug-n-play stuff usb & firewire :(
RaiderRodney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 09:57   #4
Alogusz
Senior Member
 
Alogusz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 578
No service pack 2 for me. I've heard too much about people's computers getting messed up.
I called Dell and they are sending someone out today. I think I am getting a new motherboard.
Alogusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 11:32   #5
Alogusz
Senior Member
 
Alogusz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 578
Yep, got my new motherboard yesterday.
Alogusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 14:47   #6
RaiderRodney
Just Win Baby
 
RaiderRodney's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 660
Woohoo, nice

When you put XP on you can then put SP2 on with no problems (that's what I had to do on mine). Everything is working great now.
RaiderRodney is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 21:01.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,191
369 Members
822 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31