SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 01-03-2005, 05:54   #1
Vince

Questions on programming languages ...

Hello,

A year ago, I started learning VBA and have used it in MS Outlook and Excel, along with a couple of other non-MS products. As a manufacturing engineer at a chemical company, it has been very beneficial to use. I really enjoy programming and want to do more of it. Thinking it was the next logical thing to learn, I just started learning VB.NET. I see, though, that there are a lot of alternate languages and also have since seen Linux in use, and was impressed.

I'm wondering, though, what programming language can be most broadly used? Is VB.NET only usable with Windows? Is there a VB equivalent in the Linux world? At this point, I'm wondering if learning VB.NET is the smartest thing to do, or should I spend my time and money learning a different language?

Thanks,
Old 01-03-2005, 07:58   #2
Toyman

There are many languages used on Windows, like C, C++, C#, Dephi, Python, etc.

C and C++ can probably be most broadly used. VB is just for Windows. Delphi can cross compile to run on Linux. Delphi now is also .net, but I haven't gotten into that yet.

I currently code in Delphi, but I used to be a VB guy. If you want to work in the corporate world, your best bet is to stay in the VB.net / c# world.

I personally like Delphi because it's very GUI like VB, but is faster and doesn't require runtimes. It's also much better for inheritance stuff. It's not that much different from VB language wise.
Toyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 09:28   #3
Sinister Angel
I'd Hit It!

Send a message via AIM to Sinister Angel Send a message via Yahoo to Sinister Angel
I'm gonna have to say C or C++, or both if yer up to it.

I'd also recommend getting some Perl knowledge under your belt.
Sinister Angel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 13:06   #4
vote Republican
White and nerdy