Important Notice: The site is currently being upgraded to a new software system. This process could take a day or two to complete. During that time, we are going to leave the site up here, on its old software. WHAT GETS POSTED HERE DURING THIS TRANSITION WILL NOT BE COPIED OVER ONTO THE NEW SITE, WHEN THE UPGRADE IS COMPLETE. When we swap over, the content posted while this message is visible will be lost. We wanted to give you folks a place to hang out and talk while we worked though. We will let you know when we are finished. Please pardon the inconvenience, during this transition.

Home Forums Classifieds GT Store Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2005, 02:18   #1
jack19512
Senior Member
 
jack19512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hazard Ky
Posts: 1,499
Runtime error

I just started getting this:

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
Runtime error
C:\windows\explorer.exe



Anyone know what this is and how do I fix it? Any help would be appreciated.
jack19512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 08:00   #2
fastvfr
Ancient Tech
 
fastvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SW Oregon
Posts: 3,146
Send a message via Yahoo to fastvfr
If you haven't updated your OS to SP2, or if you have and the disk HAS SP2 slipstreamed, simply put the XP CD into a drive, close down the window it pops up, and open the Run window.

Type sfc /scannow and let it run. Takes a while.

Just like in Win9x, it searches for b0rked files and will give you the option of replacing them.

Sounds like a virus got into your explorer.exe, though it could be straddling a bad sector.

Another way to fix this is if you have another PC handy with the same version of XP running.

Just copy the explorer.exe to a USB drive, a CD-RW, or whatever, then boot the problem machine into Safe Mode and rename the Explorer file, then copy the new one to its old location.

If that doesn't help, you can always rename the .old one .exe again and let it replace the one you copied over...

Good luck.
fastvfr is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:54.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds
GT Store


Users Currently Online: 805
217 Members
588 Guests

Most users ever online: 4,867
May 19, 2015 at 1:03