Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 04-07-2005, 19:46   #1
BlackBelt

Traps-time well spent?

Since we have the new forum, let me ask some of you guys a minor question that's been in the back of my mind for years now.
I studied JKD concepts for years at different schools. During this training, we followed the formula of training 90% of the time in trapping drills. These drills (hubud/bubud) seem to be incorporated in every JKD concept course that I've ever seen. Even though Bruce Lee, as well as his best students have all said that trapping will only make up, at most, 5% of any altercation. From my past experience working club security/bouncer jobs, and working with law-enforcement, as well as growing up in a tough neighborhood--in all that time, I've used a trap MAYBE once, and it was incidental if not accidental during the flow of events. Now I know that's just my experience, but I've seen lot's of fights/encounters and not once has anyone needed a trap to get past an obstacle, or tie up anyones hands. They simply worked (punched) around it or worked through it. Why then would one spend that much time training 'trapping' for empty-hand combat? Seems like that time would have been better spent teaching the elements of the 95% of the time that the fight was not spent in trapping.
I DO GREATLY value the use of trapping in weapons combat, and teach it for use against the blade and gun, but for empty hands vs. empty hands?
Has anyone here used a trap, on purpose, in an altercation?
BlackBelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 20:31   #2
gr81disp
Bushbot v1.0

Send a message via AIM to gr81disp
The Martial Arts Forum

Scotty no.

Of course, I grapple, so I get in the clinch. If it works, use it, but from what you say, it doesn't, so

The Martial Arts Forum

Don't?

(Do not ask why, even I am not sure)