Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 04-12-2005, 19:51   #1
crash700

Krav Maga

I have very little experience in the martial arts, but I have considered Krav Maga as a form of self defense due to its simplicity. My limited past experience is in Combat Hapkito, which I thoroughly enjoyed, but got out of due to a scheduling conflict with my job. Any of you guys have any experience in Krav ? What are your thoughts on it?
Old 04-12-2005, 20:08   #2
Deputydave

Here is a discussion in progress about KM.

Krav Maga

Like anything else, it has its good and bad points.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Deputydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 14:13   #3
TED

The best thing about Krav Maga is that is deliberately made to be simple and easy to learn quickly.

It might not be the best or even close but it is one of the quickest routes to "good enough".

TED
TED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 20:18   #4
crash700

Thanks Deputydave and Ted, I appreciate it.
Old 04-18-2005, 06:23   #5
bigjim

I studied Krav Maga for a year or so at the Dragon Academy in Livonia, Michigan.

I concur with the opinion above. It's a good, solid fighting style that can be learned and assimilated quickly. It's pretty "streetsmart" in that it doesn't have a lot of wasted movement, unnatural stances, or ceremony for its own sake.

If you're looking to be able to defend yourself in a real world situation, it's a good choice. The classes are hard and rewarding, if a bit cheesy at lower levels (music, hand wraps for no apparent reason, etc)