SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 04-13-2005, 08:38   #1
WPD80
The Example!

My First MVC as a Medic

Well, I am about three weeks from graduating from my EMT-B class. I also am a First Responder. I was at my local FD, when a call for a MVC, came out. One vehicle vs. a Telephone pole.

One of the EMT's told me to BSI up, and get in back. One other EMT drove. While en-route to the accident, I was thinking of what to do. I have been a cop for 14 years and handeld hundred's of PI accidents.

For this one I was nervous. Well, after arriving my PT was already out of the truck and standing. I quickly c-collared him, and got a couple of the cops (whom was making fun of me - *******s) to help board him standing. The other EMT was standing right along side of me, and watched. I really can't remember all I said or did. I just did it.

I was told that I did a great job, with the O2 and the SAMPLE questions, and DCAP-BTLS....So I feel pretty good about it.

I thought that I forgot everything the RN's were teaching me at the hosptial, but I guess not.

Thanks for Listening, I just wanted to rant a bit....

Tom

;c ;c
WPD80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 08:46   #2
G21FAN
Useless loser

Send a message via ICQ to G21FAN
BSI? do you mean PPE as we call it here?

In the South, we didn't turn our swords into plowshares. We turned our church bells into guns.
(The Elderly Kid)
G21FAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 11:54   #3
WPD80
The Example!

yep, its the same. It used to be PPE here too....Someone got paid a million bucks to think of a new name....Tom
Old 04-13-2005, 14:12   #4
G21FAN
Useless loser

Send a message via ICQ to G21FAN
sounds about right. Been a P-medic 14 years and the 3 letter alphabet soups change so much it is confusing. example: all through school and 5 years of street work, EMD was used instead of PEA, now AHA wants PEA to cover all the various pulseless electrical activities. Whew, im tired now!;f