GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2005, 11:16   #1
David_G17
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
 
David_G17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,678
openBSD firewall question

I installed openBSD 3.8 on a spare computer and intend to setup a webserver on it.

I noticed iptables isn't installed, but I'm running into problems that seem to point to a local firewall installed.

What firewall software comes with openBSD?

And how can I disable all filtering to test out my setup?
__________________
"One handgun a month is too much."
"If you ask me, 12 handguns/year is too much."
"I'd be OK with one gun a year."
"We need the strong gun regs and enforcement Europe has."
-DU debates America's future 10/23/2005

Last edited by David_G17; 11-16-2005 at 11:19..
David_G17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 11:29   #2
David_G17
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
 
David_G17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,678
eta: disregard; didn't work. :(
problem likely solved with info from:

http://www.thedeepsky.com/howto/newbie_pf_guide.php

(can't test it until tonight).
__________________
"One handgun a month is too much."
"If you ask me, 12 handguns/year is too much."
"I'd be OK with one gun a year."
"We need the strong gun regs and enforcement Europe has."
-DU debates America's future 10/23/2005

Last edited by David_G17; 11-16-2005 at 13:45..
David_G17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 11:45   #3
IDtheTarget
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 219
I can't help with BSD, but if you want to give linux a try, I'm your guy. We use RedHat here at work, so the distro I use for training is CentOS. They download RedHat's source code, remove the trademark stuff, and re-compile. (Yes, RedHat allows this. )

Sorry I couldn't help, but if you decide to switch, let me know.
IDtheTarget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 13:39   #4
David_G17
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
 
David_G17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,678
disregard my former post, still having problems.

pf wasn't enabled.

here is my setup:

Modem (192.168.1.1) -> Server (192.168.1.15)

from within the same network, I can type in http://192.168.15:8080 and get to the server.

but I can't type http://{public static ip}:8080 to get to it.

My ISP blocks port 80, but I have run an online port scanner which tells my port 8080 is open.

any suggestions?
__________________
"One handgun a month is too much."
"If you ask me, 12 handguns/year is too much."
"I'd be OK with one gun a year."
"We need the strong gun regs and enforcement Europe has."
-DU debates America's future 10/23/2005

Last edited by David_G17; 11-16-2005 at 13:46..
David_G17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 13:44   #5
David_G17
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
 
David_G17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,678
Quote:
Originally posted by IDtheTarget
I can't help with BSD, but if you want to give linux a try, I'm your guy. We use RedHat here at work, so the distro I use for training is CentOS. They download RedHat's source code, remove the trademark stuff, and re-compile. (Yes, RedHat allows this. )

Sorry I couldn't help, but if you decide to switch, let me know.
we've got Red Hat Enterprise Edition, but we're moving to Debian where i work :( I like fedora core, and if I can't get this straightened out, I may have to install FC.
__________________
"One handgun a month is too much."
"If you ask me, 12 handguns/year is too much."
"I'd be OK with one gun a year."
"We need the strong gun regs and enforcement Europe has."
-DU debates America's future 10/23/2005
David_G17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 14:43   #6
thonl
Senior Member
 
thonl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Great White North
Posts: 811
Send a message via AIM to thonl
192.168.1.1 has to have some sort of port forwarding feature in order to allow outside access. You have to be able to tell it to forward :8080 requests to your inside machine, otherwise it is just trying to hit :8080 on the modem itself.
thonl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 15:04   #7
David_G17
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
 
David_G17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,678
Quote:
Originally posted by thonl
192.168.1.1 has to have some sort of port forwarding feature in order to allow outside access. You have to be able to tell it to forward :8080 requests to your inside machine, otherwise it is just trying to hit :8080 on the modem itself.
oops, I left that out of my description. The modem is set up to forward 8080 TCP requests to 192.168.1.15

eta: actually, now that you mention it, I was playing with it earlier, and it may have two rules: one to forward 8080 traffic to 192.168.1.15 and one to forward 8080 traffic to 192.168.1.3 - I'm sure that could cause a conflict.

edited again: well, still having same problem.
__________________
"One handgun a month is too much."
"If you ask me, 12 handguns/year is too much."
"I'd be OK with one gun a year."
"We need the strong gun regs and enforcement Europe has."
-DU debates America's future 10/23/2005

Last edited by David_G17; 11-16-2005 at 18:11..
David_G17 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 13:51.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,300
321 Members
979 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42