Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2005, 18:55   #1
powasky
<3
 
powasky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Delaplane, VA
Posts: 1,133
Send a message via AIM to powasky
Sound issues, new comp

I JUST finished building my PC today, and the sound won't work. I have an Asus A8N5X mobo, and I'm using the onboard sound. The chipset is an nForce4. I've tried using the Realtek AC'97 drivers, as well as the nForce4 drivers. The only time I can get sound out of the speakers is when I open this HP Sound Effect panel thing. It has a "connector sensing" panel, that detects the speakers when they're plugged in. I click the "Start" button, on the panel, and a loading bar starts up, and goes to 100. During this time (like 2 seconds) I can hear my music playing. As soon as it hits 100, I get a very short squeal type sound, and an error message that reads: Access violation at address 004A1A02 in module 'RTLCPL.exe.' Read of address 0000001C. I'm using the plug in the back of the mobo for the speakers.
__________________
"I can't judge any of you. I have no malice against you and no ribbons for you. But I think that it is high time that you all start looking at yourselves, and judging the lie that you live in." -Charles Manson
powasky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2005, 00:13   #2
fastvfr
Ancient Tech
 
fastvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SW Oregon
Posts: 3,146
Send a message via Yahoo to fastvfr
Either something is running in the background and causing a conflict or you need to reinstall/update the sound drivers.

And, if you just built that machine why is there an "HP Sound Effect panel thing" in there?!? That stands for Hewlett-Packard, correct?

I'm pretty sure that application is actually the reason, or a big part of the reason, why you have no sound...

BTW, NF4's are good boards but you'll get better performance from a PCI sound card such as the ones sold by Creative Labs. A word of advice: DO NOT install the SB card from the included CD!!!!!!

Let XP install it and you will have fewer problems, for sure. The only exceptions to this rule are the newer Audigy cards which require the Creative WaveStudio to be installed before the 3D sound will work properly in all applications.

Good luck!
fastvfr is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 15:02.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,066
284 Members
782 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31