GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2005, 20:05   #1
El Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: pimiento cheese sandwich
Posts: 689
Send a message via AIM to El Dave
Video card help.

My brother got Call of Duty II, and Brothers in Arms, earned in blood for his PC for Christmas. Unfortunately he doesn't have enough RAM or the proper video card to run them.

He went out and bought some RAM today and got it in, but the video card is too long to fit in the slot. So apparantly they come in different sizes. Obviously I know nothing about them.

What should he look for when shopping for one, and how are they sized? This is his setup if it helps.

Gateway Desktop
Mod: 500 SE
640 RAM
Windows XP
Pent 4

We would appreciate any help, as he's eager to kill some nazi bastards.

;c ;c
__________________
Rock and roll means well, but it can't help telling young boys lies.
El Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 20:34   #2
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Looks like it only has a PCI slot.Not AGP not PCI-X not PCI-E.Plain old PCI.

http://support.gateway.com/s/PC/2800071/2800071nv.shtml

http://support.gateway.com/s/PC/2800071/2800071nv.shtml

PCI/ISA/AGP Slots/Connectors

* 2 -12V fan header for processors fan sinks
* No AGP/ISA Connectors
* Two PCI connectors
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 20:35   #3
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
Says the original motherboard was AMD K6-2(500 to 550MHZ)

Not Pentium 4.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 20:38   #4
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
This one is a Pentium 4

http://support.gateway.com/s/PC/R/3724/3724nv.shtml

Need more info.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 20:40   #5
El Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: pimiento cheese sandwich
Posts: 689
Send a message via AIM to El Dave
Quote:
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
Says the original motherboard was AMD K6-2(500 to 550MHZ)

Not Pentium 4.
What does this portend? And I'm not very slot saavy.


Thanks.
__________________
Rock and roll means well, but it can't help telling young boys lies.

Last edited by El Dave; 12-28-2005 at 20:55..
El Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 20:47   #6
HAVOC
CLM Number 178
Remember
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 9,198
Send a message via MSN to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Short version: You're screwed.

Sell listings I've seen on the net show a 1.6-2.0GHz Pentium 4. Somewhat lacking for games.

Integrated video as you've found. bites.

Worst of all, looks like only PCI slots available. Pretty deismal selection of cards for PCI, and the ones that are out there are pretty weak. Better than integrated, but a bike is better than walking, too...

Gateway's online support is poor, at best. Hence the confusion finding a proper set of specs.

Quick and dirty, look inside the box and see if it has 4 exactly the same size and position slots for cards, probably white. If there's longer or differently positioned slots there may be hope.
__________________
10mm... all the power you love from the 20mm, with half the recoil.

You can't reason someone out of something
that they didn't reason themselves into.
HAVOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 20:50   #7
El Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: pimiento cheese sandwich
Posts: 689
Send a message via AIM to El Dave
Thanks. I should have done more research before making the purchase.
__________________
Rock and roll means well, but it can't help telling young boys lies.
El Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 20:53   #8
El Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: pimiento cheese sandwich
Posts: 689
Send a message via AIM to El Dave
I'll have him check. Thanks again.
__________________
Rock and roll means well, but it can't help telling young boys lies.
El Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 21:03   #9
El Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: pimiento cheese sandwich
Posts: 689
Send a message via AIM to El Dave
Would the fact that he put a sound card in (turtle beach santa Cruz) in be cause for hope? Again, I'm not wise in the ways of slots. ;c

Edited for spelling.
__________________
Rock and roll means well, but it can't help telling young boys lies.
El Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 21:32   #10
HAVOC
CLM Number 178
Remember
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 9,198
Send a message via MSN to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Not really.

But that's a standard PCI slot, so if that's the only kind of slot in there, you're kinda stuck.

There are PCI (~NOT~ PCI Express) out there, and they will improve game capability, whether it's good enough for COD II....

COD II wants a 64MB video card, so you might be able to fake it out. You can get 128MB and 256MB PCI cards these days. Best in the bunch are probably cards based on an Nvidia FX5500 or FX5700LE, or an ATi Radeon 9250.

That sort of upgrade will probably let you play, but certainly not with all the eye candy on.
__________________
10mm... all the power you love from the 20mm, with half the recoil.

You can't reason someone out of something
that they didn't reason themselves into.
HAVOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 21:44   #11
El Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: pimiento cheese sandwich
Posts: 689
Send a message via AIM to El Dave
Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC
Not really.

But that's a standard PCI slot, so if that's the only kind of slot in there, you're kinda stuck.

There are PCI (~NOT~ PCI Express) out there, and they will improve game capability, whether it's good enough for COD II....

COD II wants a 64MB video card, so you might be able to fake it out. You can get 128MB and 256MB PCI cards these days. Best in the bunch are probably cards based on an Nvidia FX5500 or FX5700LE, or an ATi Radeon 9250.

That sort of upgrade will probably let you play, but certainly not with all the eye candy on.
Yeah. Thanks man. I just spoke with him and from his description it seems that's what he has. He's gonna see what he can dig up to run it, even if he's not getting the full potential.

I had fun playing the first COD even thought there were frame rate stutters with my system.
__________________
Rock and roll means well, but it can't help telling young boys lies.
El Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 21:49   #12
El Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: pimiento cheese sandwich
Posts: 689
Send a message via AIM to El Dave
link


This is the link from the ubisoft FAQ site. Is it safe to say that he won't likely be able to run this with just the slots he has?

It says it will only run with the supported cards.


Edited to add: Next year he's getting a good skinning knife or fishing reel or somesuch.
__________________
Rock and roll means well, but it can't help telling young boys lies.
El Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 22:09   #13
fastvfr
Ancient Tech
 
fastvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SW Oregon
Posts: 3,146
Send a message via Yahoo to fastvfr
No problem.

You can get a standard PCI graphics adapter that'll help alot but those games will have to be played at low detail settings for a good play on his current box.

But keep in mind that he now has a good reason to finally step into 21st Century computing, and those games will play perfectly on his new PC if he has it built to run them.

Here's what he'd need for that PC:

Here's the link...

And here's a pic:

Tech Talk

This is an FX5200 that runs on the PCI slots he DOES have. RAM and CPU will keep things pretty tame but those games might play regardless.
fastvfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 22:24   #14
El Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: pimiento cheese sandwich
Posts: 689
Send a message via AIM to El Dave
Thanks fastvfr.


And if things don't pan out, can you offer any tips on skinning knives and fishing reels for next christmas?


Happy new year to all. ;c ;c ;c
__________________
Rock and roll means well, but it can't help telling young boys lies.
El Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 01:53   #15
HAVOC
CLM Number 178
Remember
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 9,198
Send a message via MSN to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
I'd go with this. Mostly technical differences, not terribly large ones, either.

Whether or not the differences will matter to your brother's gaming? Flip a coin.

Quote:
*Supported Video Cards at Time of Release*

ATI Radeon 8500/9000/X series
NVIDIA GeForce 4/FX/6 series (GeForce 4 MX not supported)
Both my link, as well as vfr's are FX series cards. So you should be good to go. At least as good to go as you can be playing 2005 games on a 2002 economy line computer...
__________________
10mm... all the power you love from the 20mm, with half the recoil.

You can't reason someone out of something
that they didn't reason themselves into.
HAVOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 09:57   #16
El Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: pimiento cheese sandwich
Posts: 689
Send a message via AIM to El Dave
Thanks. I'll let you know what he does and the results.
__________________
Rock and roll means well, but it can't help telling young boys lies.
El Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 19:54   #17
El Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: pimiento cheese sandwich
Posts: 689
Send a message via AIM to El Dave
He put in the FX5500 and it's running fine.


Thanks for all the information.
__________________
Rock and roll means well, but it can't help telling young boys lies.
El Dave is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 14:09.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,095
307 Members
788 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31