Glock Talk Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
 |
12-31-2005, 10:07
|
#1
|
|
NRA Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,345
|
bfast.com
I used to shop online with Barnes & Noble quite often. They must have been using bfast.com spyware because every promotion for B&N I get, I cannot participate. My computer will not connect to "service.bfast.com". My using Spy Sweeper, Ad-Aware or Spybot must have listed them and I eliminated them. Would a company that large actually add a cookie that is dangerous enough that these spe-ware progarms would stop them or could someone else have piggy backed on their ads? Regardless, the promotions are now worthless to me. Is it OK to try and find then uncontaminate bfast or just leave it alone? I'm confused and probably naive to boot.
__________________
"I find the harder I work, the more luck I seem to have"....Thomas Jefferson
Last edited by Generalcarry; 12-31-2005 at 10:14..
|
|
|
12-31-2005, 17:14
|
#2
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,492
|
What most likely happened is that bfast was listed in your hosts file. It poses no real danger but is still listed along with several sites, both harmless and harmful, when you "innoculate" using Spybot, etc.
|
|
|
');
document.write(' ');
};
//-->
01-01-2006, 01:37
|
#3
|
|
... --- ...
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,858
|
There is no bfast.com
You must have some other spyware. Barnes & noble is highly unlikely to use spyware.
|
|
|
01-01-2006, 04:27
|
#4
|
|
NRA Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,345
|
It's "service.bfast.com". I'm sure I tossed it and only now realized that just because they are listed as being potentially harmful, some are not that bad. I just always went with the programs suggestion.
Regardless, do you think it would be OK to try and find which program has it (quarantined?) and let B&N restore it? I dealt with them a lot!
__________________
"I find the harder I work, the more luck I seem to have"....Thomas Jefferson
|
|
|
01-01-2006, 13:26
|
#5
|
|
... --- ...
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,858
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Generalcarry
It's "service.bfast.com". I'm sure I tossed it and only now realized that just because they are listed as being potentially harmful, some are not that bad. I just always went with the programs suggestion.
Regardless, do you think it would be OK to try and find which program has it (quarantined?) and let B&N restore it? I dealt with them a lot!
|
There is no bfast.com, hence there is no service.bfast.com
What service does B&N use, that you're talking about? When I go to www.barnesandnoble.com , I see nothing that is needed to be downloaded to shop at Barnes & Noble.
Sounds like you've got some spyware before that pretended to be a Barnes & Noble application.
If it's just a cookie then you shouldn't have the problems you're experiencing.
|
|
|
01-01-2006, 20:57
|
#6
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,492
|
bfast.com and service.bfast.com are indeed legit url's, although there is no actual page associated. It is a click-through affiliate service that's used by many vendors to include Barnes and Noble.
The only time it should adversly affect you in regards to buying something from B&N, however, is when you're clicking one of their ads that's on a third party site or if the site would otherwise refer you to B&N when you click on a product link.
|
|
|
01-03-2006, 09:20
|
#7
|
|
NRA Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,345
|
The only time it should adversly affect you in regards to buying something from B&N, however, is when you're clicking one of their ads that's on a third party site or if the site would otherwise refer you to B&N when you click on a product link. [/B][/QUOTE]
I believe it's the second condition. If I google B&N, I cannot connect to the first hit which is "www.BarnesandNoble.com". The official site. I guess I'm just SOL if I wanted to take advantage of their members only promotions being I have to go through service.bfast.com. Would that about sum it up?
__________________
"I find the harder I work, the more luck I seem to have"....Thomas Jefferson
|
|
|
|
Sponsored Links
|
Advertisement
|
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37.
|
|
|