Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 01-04-2006, 08:22   #1
havensal
CLM Number 216
Nozzle Jockey

Corp. level wireless security

We are running a small NT2000 DHCP server with about 30 clients. I have been tasked to look into adding wirless capability for the dozen or so laptops. I have wireless network at home and have done all of the normal steps, (WPA, no SSID broadcast, Etc.).

What else can be done on a corperate level to make the wireless as secure as posible?

I am reading up on WPA2.

Is there any software available to add security?

How much security does the DHCP add?

Would we be more vulnerable through the T1 than the wirless with the normal security steps taken?

Sorry for all of the questions, but I am new to this security thing. Thanks. ;c
RTN Bodyguard Club #034 "FearMyLaserLytes"
havensal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 08:28   #2
Egyas
Troll Hater

Because wireless is broadcast, others have the ability to at least "sniff" at the traffic, or attempt to "hack" into the network. The company I work for is very serious about security. Previously, wireless networking was forbidden.

Now it is acceptable, in limited applications. The access points are plugged into the switches, and the ports that are plugged into are configured to accept VPN traffic only (along with all the other security options). This way, anyone that wants to connect wirelessly must establish a VPN connection (which requires the company mandated software and hardware token).

Founder - Illinois Glockers Club #1
Big Dawg, GOTOD, Niner's & Survival #1280
GOA Member
NRA Member
Egyas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 08:39   #3
havensal
CLM Number 216
Nozzle Jockey

That sounds like a lot of hassle. How user friendly is the login?
RTN Bodyguard Club #034 "FearMyLaserLytes"
havensal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 10:24   #4
Egyas
Troll Hater