Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 11-15-2006, 11:47   #1
aleekat

Buried a Vet, my Dad

Buried my Dad 2 weeks ago. Vet of WW2, Korea, Vietnam. He ask to be buried in his uniform. Ret. SGM, Armor. I'm a vet myself, 79-01, Army aviator. I knew it would be tough, but when they played Taps, I lost it. God rest his soul.
aleekat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 12:03   #2
1-2man
Part Time

May he Rest In Peace. You should be very proud.
1-2man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 12:57   #3
.40 caliber

Old 12-06-2006, 16:35   #4
DriBak
GUNS UP

RIP, TAPS and the Nat'l Anthem get me everytime
Old 12-06-2006, 19:15   #5
pt945
GLOCK 17

Veteran's Forum

God bless you and your family and thank you and your family for your service to our great country
pt945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 00:14   #6
DGRABQ

Great Men, Our Dads...

My dad is a WWII Vet. He is in good health, but I have been thinking a lot about this issue. If I am lucky, I will precede him... but if not my day is yet to come.

I wore an Army uniform to the funeral of my grandfather at a National Cemetery in Minnesota. He was a Veteran of WWI. I was an active duty Army captain at the time.

Those who fought for our freedoms before us are truly great men. Most will tell you that they signed up for patriotism, but fought for their brothers and friends. God, motherhood and apple pie must get a little hazy in the heat of battle, but their buddies to the right and left of them are very real... as is the enemy shooting at them.