Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2007, 16:33   #1
RM
Senior Member
 
RM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Deployed
Posts: 3,746


Vista

A couple weeks back I got a new dual core lap top with Vista. It was kind of annoying that it was a little slower than my old Pentium M, both with 1 Gig of RAM. Well today I added another Gig of RAM, and it now is allot faster, I guess 1 Gig was not enough and the extra Gig was required to get it going properly. I don't have a way of quantifying it but, pages open allot faster, programs open faster, with the increased stability that Vista showed over my XP laptop this addition of RAM has finally made me happy with the lap top.
__________________
Somewhere a True Believer is training to kill you. He is training with minimum food and water, in the worst of conditions, day or night. The only thing clean on him is his weapon. The True Believer doesn’t care how hard it is. He knows he either wins or he dies. He doesn’t go home at 1600. He knows only his CAUSE.
RM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 17:30   #2
Patrick Graham
Footlong Jr.
 
Patrick Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kokomo Indiana
Posts: 5,458


I haven't even looked at a Vista machine yet but it sure sounds like the PC manufacturers are doing the same thing that they do with new XP systems.. and that is load them down with worthless crap that runs as services at startup.

And, just like new XP systems I'll bet there is a way to shut down or remove 30% of that crap from the system resulting in a signifigant performance boost without any change in hardware and without any loss in system capability.
__________________
Never feed a cat anything that isn't the same color as the carpet.
Patrick Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 19:07   #3
lens
Senior Member
 
lens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northeast
Posts: 1,071
Check to see if this will work in Vista.

In the "Run" box, type in "msconfig" (no quotes). Go thru the last two tabs one by one and disable those you KNOW aren't necessary, reboot and see what happens. You can always undo it, but this is a very effective way to cut down the auto-startup junk (memory hogs).
__________________
"A man who trims himself to suit everybody will soon whittle himself away." - Chinese fortune cookie (but politicians should take note!)
lens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 19:25   #4
RM
Senior Member
 
RM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Deployed
Posts: 3,746


There is no longer a "run" box in tool bar menu.
__________________
Somewhere a True Believer is training to kill you. He is training with minimum food and water, in the worst of conditions, day or night. The only thing clean on him is his weapon. The True Believer doesn’t care how hard it is. He knows he either wins or he dies. He doesn’t go home at 1600. He knows only his CAUSE.
RM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 23:52   #5
lens
Senior Member
 
lens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northeast
Posts: 1,071
Quote:
Originally posted by RM
There is no longer a "run" box in tool bar menu.
The function hasn't gone away, you just need to figure out where they hid it!

OK, you forced me to break out my laptop and look!

Just go to that bottom "search bar" and type in Msconfig. It brings up the System Configuration Utility. You want the Services and Startup tabs to disable unnecessary features/apps.
__________________
"A man who trims himself to suit everybody will soon whittle himself away." - Chinese fortune cookie (but politicians should take note!)
lens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 00:45   #6
HAVOC
CLM Number 178
Remember
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 9,198
Send a message via MSN to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Like most OEM machines, the best bet is to baseline the whole thing. You never know WHAT crap the OEM splooged on there. Of course that's made difficult by the nasty habit of many OEMs NOT including a proper OS dick. That sucks. I assume Task Manager is still there. Find out how many processes are running.
__________________
10mm... all the power you love from the 20mm, with half the recoil.

You can't reason someone out of something
that they didn't reason themselves into.
HAVOC is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:38.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 884
281 Members
603 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31