Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 05-06-2007, 16:08   #1
pat701

Thinking about retiring to Texas

Howdy, i am a Chicago police officer for 30 years, I need out of this city and state we almost have no Second Ammendment rights in Chicago. I have never been to Texas. I have been looking at homes in Texas at realtor.com. In the Paris/Reno area do to the fact that is a northern area and hopfully a cooler area in the summer then the south of Texas. I need to be in a "low crime area" after fighting with the gang bangers all my life. Please give me some locations to look at in Texas, i would like to see trees and lakes if that is possable. With hunting and fishing an hour or two away. That you. I will be blowing the job on 15July07. I can't wait need peace and quite. 30 years was a life time on the job.
pat701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 16:36   #2
SeriousStudent

First of all, thank you for your service!

I live in a northern suburb of Dallas. Real estate prices here are pretty stable. Honestly, all of Texas is pretty hot in the summer. There is only a few degrees difference between Dallas and Houston. There is a large difference in humidity, however.

Are you looking to buy a house in the burbs? Or maybe a couple of acres in the countryside? Are you selling a home in Chicago and investing the money here?

They are developing a lot of land outside Dallas and Fort Worth with the scenario you have in mind. They do have trees, and they are bulding lakes on the land and stocking them. So you typically have a couple of private lakes, one for fishing, the other for waterskiing.

Let us know how we can help. It seems like we get a fair number of retired LEO's moving here, and you are definitely welcome. Our winters are definitely much kinder than what you are used to!

<insert long list of firearms here>
SeriousStudent is offline   Reply With Quote