GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2007, 05:31   #1
Toyman
Senior Member
 
Toyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 3,856
Changing video cards

Ok, I haven't done this in a while, and could manage to do it myself, but I'm wondering what the "best" way to do this is.

I'm running 2 video cards, both nVidia 5200 chipsets, one PCI, one AGP, on Windows XP.

I'm going to be changing both of them out for better cards, staying with nVidia.

What order of steps should I take for uninstalling the old drivers, installing the cards, and installing the new drivers?

I do plan on physically installing them at different times, getting one up and going before installing the other.
__________________
Mike - A forum post should be like a skirt. Long enough to cover the subject material, but short enough to keep things interesting.
"It's not about the odds, it's about the stakes." -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Toyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2007, 12:16   #2
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
To uninstall the old drivers use a driver cleaner. You can run it after doing a normal uninstall of the drivers or you should just be able to run the driver cleaner. Depending how new and up to date your Windows XP is Microsoft has a tool that monitors your hardware. If you make large changes in hardware Windows thinks it's being installed on another PC. Then you must call MS.

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=745

or


http://www.filepedia.com/desktop_sof...leaner_pro.cfm

This latest version unlike previous versons removes the Nvidia folder and everything in it. So if you had more than one thing you wanted to keep it will delete it. Sounds okay for what you want to do though.


You should download the latest drivers for the new card(s).

http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp

Then you can go uninstall the old drivers and then run Driver Cleaner. Then shutdown the PC. Install new video card. Boot the the PC.It should start in VGA mode. The device manager will find new hardware. Then install driver for it that you downloaded. The problem is the new Microsoft pirate protection might detect too much hardware change.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2007, 15:41   #3
malkore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 1,648
It's worth investigating what drivers the new cards use.

I'm an ATI guy, and their drivers are usually universal, so I just change out the cards and I'm done.

Otherwise the info posted already is sound advice to avoid headaches. even with no drivers installed Windows XP will still have native VGA support at a low res so you can get installed what you need to install, drive wise.
__________________
XD .45 ACP service
XD 9mm sub-compact (bitone)
AR-15 (Stag Arms parts)
Walther p22 (carbon fiber)
Sig Mosquito
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 18:12   #4
NetNinja
Always Faithful
 
NetNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: HotLanta, GA
Posts: 2,425
Replace the Motherboard.

Go to PCIE

better performance all arround.
__________________
G17,G22,G30,Sig P229 Sport
Kimber CC Series 1,Kimber CCR Series 1
SA TRP Operator SA 1911A1
S&W 1911, 686, M19, 627VComp,ColtDE10mm
Anschutz 1813 Super Match
NetNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 18:19   #5
NetNinja
Always Faithful
 
NetNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: HotLanta, GA
Posts: 2,425
Replace the Motherboard.

Go to PCIE

better performance all arround.
__________________
G17,G22,G30,Sig P229 Sport
Kimber CC Series 1,Kimber CCR Series 1
SA TRP Operator SA 1911A1
S&W 1911, 686, M19, 627VComp,ColtDE10mm
Anschutz 1813 Super Match
NetNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 19:14   #6
Toyman
Senior Member
 
Toyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 3,856
Quote:
Originally posted by NetNinja
Replace the Motherboard.

Go to PCIE

better performance all arround.
Not an option right now, I have way too much stuff installed and not enough time to do that right now. That's a "later this summer" job. Also, I still haven't decided what the new rig will be hardware wise.
__________________
Mike - A forum post should be like a skirt. Long enough to cover the subject material, but short enough to keep things interesting.
"It's not about the odds, it's about the stakes." -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Toyman is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 962
291 Members
671 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31