GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2007, 13:57   #1
PicardMD
Make It So!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Star Fleet Medical...
Posts: 2,220
Switching from Westell to 2-wire home portal

I don't know much about computer networking...

Our current modem is a Westell 6100 from our DSL provider (Bellsouth, if it makes a difference).

We have an old 2-Wire Homeportal 1000HW that is not "supported" by Bellsouth (they support 1000SW, have no idea the differences), would love to be able to use it for home wireless.

I have found that simply disconnecting from Westell Modem and plugging in the 2-wire does not work... (OK, I don't know much about modems...)

Can someone tell me, step by step, what I need to do to switch from the Westell modem to the 2-wire homeportal? Or if it is even possible on a modem not supported by my DSL provider. And, HOW TO SWITCH BACK TO WESTELL IF THIS EXPERIMENT FAILS... need to know before hand in case I can't connect to the internet and ask for help if it fails...

P
__________________
Peace is not the mere absence of conflicts. It's the presence of Justice.

* Beverly Picard, MD * The SECOND sexiest lady doc I know... (my wife is THE sexiest lady doc I know :cool:, but she wouldn't let me use her name as my handle on a gun board... :supergrin: )
PicardMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 14:36   #2
srhoades
Senior Member
 
srhoades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 4,537
You connect up the 2wire. You then need to login into it via it IP. I think 2wire is 192.168.1.1 Make sure the login is set to PPoE and put in your username and password for your DSL service.
__________________
Let's see. You drive a Ford, you drink crap beer, you quote Hitler, and you haven't had sex in years. Nope, ain't taking your advice. - BALIFF
srhoades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 20:51   #3
PicardMD
Make It So!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Star Fleet Medical...
Posts: 2,220
And if the above doesn't work, would I be able to just hook it up to my old Westell? Or do I need to reconfigure the Westell (?how) again?

Also, anything I should do (or can do) to make the 2-wire home wireless as secure as it can be? I have a 2-wire card that came with the homeportal, how do I use it with my laptop besides just insert it into it?

Thanks, I know they are probably simple questions... I'm old.

P.
__________________
Peace is not the mere absence of conflicts. It's the presence of Justice.

* Beverly Picard, MD * The SECOND sexiest lady doc I know... (my wife is THE sexiest lady doc I know :cool:, but she wouldn't let me use her name as my handle on a gun board... :supergrin: )

Last edited by PicardMD; 05-20-2007 at 21:04..
PicardMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 23:45.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 982
249 Members
733 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42