GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2007, 14:20   #1
Mr. PC
Senior Member
 
Mr. PC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,525
Does it matter which empty slots you plug your RAM into?

(I have two sticks of 512MB RAM)

I had first stick in slot #1 and second stick in slot #3, leaving slots #2 and #4 empty.

I just moved the RAM to slots #1 and #2, leaving slots #3 and #4 empty.

Does it matter? What is better?

Heat? Performance?

Last edited by Mr. PC; 06-07-2007 at 14:44..
Mr. PC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 15:04   #2
chbix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Reno NV
Posts: 287
nope, it shouldnt matter, obviously the computer is recognizing both sticks. I would think that it would be beneficial from a heat stand point to run them in slot 1 and 4, but i dont think your going to see that big of a difference if your running a good cooling set up.
chbix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 15:10   #3
HAVOC
CLM Number 178
Remember
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 9,198
Send a message via MSN to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Assuming it's the IS7 you linked in another thread, then YES, it does matter.

From the IS-7 Manaul:

Quote:
To reach the performance of Dual Channel DDR, the following rules must be obeyed:

When installing TWO DIMM modules: Install DIMM modules of the same type and size for slots [DIMM1]+[DIMM3] or slots [DIMM2]+[DIMM4].
For functionality, not it doesn't matter. But running matching sticks in DIMM1 and DIMM3 will perform better than DIMM1 and DIMM2.
__________________
10mm... all the power you love from the 20mm, with half the recoil.

You can't reason someone out of something
that they didn't reason themselves into.
HAVOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 15:53   #4
malkore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 1,648
as stated, it DOES matter if you've got a board with DDR slots.

in order to get the Dual Data Rate advantage you have to install matched memory sticks in the correct 'paired' memory slots, or you take a hit on your potential performance.
__________________
XD .45 ACP service
XD 9mm sub-compact (bitone)
AR-15 (Stag Arms parts)
Walther p22 (carbon fiber)
Sig Mosquito
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 15:57   #5
HAVOC
CLM Number 178
Remember
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 9,198
Send a message via MSN to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Quote:
Originally posted by malkore
as stated, it DOES matter if you've got a board with DDR slots.

in order to get the Dual Data Rate advantage you have to install matched memory sticks in the correct 'paired' memory slots, or you take a hit on your potential performance.
It's actually a dual-channel dual data rate issue. Not all DDR is DC. The board in question is dual-channel is though.
__________________
10mm... all the power you love from the 20mm, with half the recoil.

You can't reason someone out of something
that they didn't reason themselves into.
HAVOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 16:27   #6
jtull7
Pistolero
 
jtull7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 6,840
Ram your plug into? I say it matters!
__________________
Cocked, locked, and ready to rock!

Every day I face Ogden, Utah, and pray that God might bless John Moses Browning.

Outpost Member #69 I collect and shoot many fine firearms. CCW: NM, CT, and NH. N5JHT. WFR. Former LEO. SAR. Bilateral trans-tibial amputee. Survivor of bubonic plague. Tough sum-bitch.
jtull7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 17:26   #7
RaiderRodney
Just Win Baby
 
RaiderRodney's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 660
Yeah if it's DDR it does matter and motherboard companies are different in how they setup for this. Some us same color such as blue/black/blue/black and you plug into the 2 blues for DDR. Others do just the opposite and you would plug two sticks into blue and black. Best to just check your MB specs and see what they recommend.
RaiderRodney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 00:47   #8
chbix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Reno NV
Posts: 287
sorry about that i wasnt even thinking about the dual channel ddr thing, they are right, my bad.
chbix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 13:41   #9
Patrick Graham
Footlong Jr.
 
Patrick Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kokomo Indiana
Posts: 5,458


Quote:
Originally posted by jtull7
Ram your plug into? I say it matters!
Good one.. wish I'd have said that..
__________________
Never feed a cat anything that isn't the same color as the carpet.
Patrick Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 21:38   #10
FastZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 52
Re: Does it matter which empty slots you plug your RAM into?

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. PC
(I have two sticks of 512MB RAM)

I had first stick in slot #1 and second stick in slot #3, leaving slots #2 and #4 empty.

I just moved the RAM to slots #1 and #2, leaving slots #3 and #4 empty.

Does it matter? What is better?

Heat? Performance?
Yes, it does matter. There should ALWAYS be a stick of RAM in slot #1. Slots #1 and #3 are "related" and slots #2 and #4 are "related". If you have two sticks of RAM and you want to use both of them, put the faster of the two sticks in slot #1 and the other in #3. If you have three, then have RAM in slots #1, #3, and lastly #2 and so on and so forth.
__________________
Glock 23 3rdGen
FastZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 09:36   #11
Mr. PC
Senior Member
 
Mr. PC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,525
HAVOC and FastZ, thanks!

I have moved my RAM sticks back to slot #1 and slot #3.

Mr. PC is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 00:29.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 911
172 Members
739 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42