GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2007, 19:25   #1
alank2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,907
Web development questions...

Hi,

My boss has given me the task of building a webpage for our company. I've had a little bit of HTML experience and messed around with FrontPage a little, but I am by no means a web developer or graphics artist. I'm a C++ developer primarily. You can see a personal website I have for my small software business here:

http://www.sadevelopment.com

That will give you a quick look at my limited capabilities. I've done a little .net reading, but not much at all.

The task that I am given is to develop a website that has a banner across the top of the page. When you hover items in the top banner it will show the menu options available in a second banner directly underneath the top banner. The rest of the page below will be content.

What is the easiest way to implement something like this banner menu?

Thanks,

Alan
alank2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 15:25   #2
jeanjvr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 335
Site looks fine, I see it's done with frontpage.

Question: What will the content pages contain? Will it be static HTML or is this a web application with login\database access?

If the content is static you could use a javascript menu on top and insert the frontpage HTML as the content.

I've never used Frontpage before so I can't comment on that. I use C# in Visual Studio 2005 for ASP.net web applications.

Google "free javascript menu" and you'll fine something for sure. There is alot of free javascript on the internet.
jeanjvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 20:01   #3
alank2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,907
Hi,

Thanks for replyig. I'm trying to learn CSS and JavaScript right now. The site I need to work on will just be static HTML.

Do you know how they build the top menu row at www.apple.com ?

I looked at the source and it looks like a regular HTML unsorted list they must somehow be transforming. I think they are using some sort of JavaScript to generate the graphic buttons at the top instead of having actual images. What do you think?

Thanks for the help,

Alan
alank2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 08:13   #4
jeanjvr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 335
It is possible to to most of what they do with that top menu using just CSS and some background images. Images can be referenced in CSS and made to change on certain "events" in the CSS your writing.

The other menu with the scrolling looks like some serious javascript.

I havent worked with CSS in a while but our professor was extremely strict and marked our work against this site:

http://validator.w3.org/

If you want to create 100% correct HTML, this service is very handy.

You could use this :

http://www.opencube.com/sampleit_im....18/sample.html

or

http://www.opencube.com/sampleit_im....e8/sample.html

Last edited by jeanjvr; 08-01-2007 at 08:18..
jeanjvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 08:15   #5
alank2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,907
Hi,

Thanks, I've had some other people tell me I should stick to CSS as much as possible for compatibility and only use JavaScript over CSS when I have no choice.

I appreciate the help!!

Alan
alank2 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 13:18.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,133
327 Members
806 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42