Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 08-07-2007, 21:52   #1
Fumble
RIP Poom . . .

I need your help with a fire extinguisher familiarization class

I need your help.

I have been tasked with giving the civilians in our department a fire extinguisher familiarization class. Im a cop not a firefighter but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night but I think that will wear off by the time of the class. My quandary, I did this once before but had only one sheet of facts to offer and the rest of the info I had to provide which wasnt much. I want to do better this time so can anyone point me to resource info and/or offer advise on giving such a class?
Old 08-08-2007, 05:57   #2
Tvov

Hmmm... I've never given a class. Are you going to do "live fire"? Where you use kerosene in pans on the ground and put them out? If you can, do that, as it is much more interesting than just talking about extinguishers. It also shows how fire can "flare up" for a second when you use an extinguisher.

Wish I could be more helpful!
Tvov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 09:38   #3
nam02G
Angry Bunny

You could contact your local fire marshal or fire prevention officer if you have one. Or if your town has a CERT program find out who is in charge of that. IFSTA might have a websight with information, or just google fire extinguisher use.
Old 08-09-2007, 07:06   #4
4095fanatic

Depends on if you're actually discharging extinguishers or not... here's the basic rundown of what to highlight:

Most civilians will have just Dry Chemical, while most fire departments carry at least Dry Chem, Water Can, and CO2. If you go to a government/military/etc. installation you might encounter Halon.

If you demonstrate a CO2, make sure EVERYONE has protective gloves on, and the people in the immediate area have protective gear on. You can get some nasty injuries if you're not careful around those things.