Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 12-07-2007, 11:24   #1
Sgt. Rambo

Marine Corps Helicopter Pilots

Devil Dogs....I'm doing some research for my second novel, and I was wondering if Helicopter pilots carried call signs similar to jet pilots. Any information would help, I was former 2531 trained in 29 Stumps. Didn't have any contact with air wing. Share a call sign if you have one. Thanks...oh ps the first novel is out called "Crossing the Line." It's a border invasion/war fictional novel. It's available at www.tatepublishing.com. Thanks for the help, stay safe and Semper Fi!!
Old 12-07-2007, 12:46   #2
FLMarine

As a Phrog driver I can tell you we have call signs. You get one usually for one of three reasons; play on your name, you resemble someone, or you do something really stupid.

We mainly use call signs as a way to identify who we are over interflight radios.

As for my call sign, it's not getting out on the net since it involves an embarrasing story after a night out on the town, lol.

Sgt Rambo- drop me a line on PM and I'll fill you in on callsigns since most are not appropriate to repeat in this forum.
Old 12-07-2007, 12:51   #3
deadday

Egg beater pilots in the Army do as well....

drew
deadday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 14:32   #4
Biscuitsjam

My memory is kind of fuzzy, but I seem to remember them using standard callsigns over open channels. Things like "Slayer 2." Wouldn't the personal callsigns be for internal use on their private net only?
Biscuitsjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 15:10   #5
FLMarine

Biscuitsjam,

Your memory is correct. We'll use our callsign for the squadron and number like you described when talking to outside agencies. When we talk over interflight freqs (between squadron helos) we'll use the personal callsign of whoever signed for the aircraft.