Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 12-20-2007, 03:09   #1
ks farmboy

for active duty...

if you could change the PT test, how would you? what would you want to change? the push ups? sit ups? waist? run time or distance? what would you change to make it better? just curious cause i think the PT test the way it is now it garbage.

Black Rifle Club #4191
ks farmboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 07:28   #2
meeko

For one the waist size needs to go! To let someone get max points just because they have the waist of a 12 year old boy is stupid. I don't have a problem with the push ups/ sit ups or run but I would also like to see an obstical course (Sorry I'm a career sky cop) instead of minimum standards make it like SWAT team tryouts. What I mean is make them show they have HEART!!!!
meeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 12:29   #3
MrMurphy
Head Sheepdog

I agree. I've seen marathon-running fanatics who are great on the track, but couldn't do much else. I'd rather test stamina in an obstacle course/ruck march type scenario than a straight run. Case in point, I have messed up knees from running too much. I can't run long distance, but I can put on full body armor, pick up 60lb of machine gun and ammo and run from cover to cover all day long as long as it's in short dashes (20-30 yards here and there) or a hundred yards at a time.
"And Shepherds we shall be. For thee, my Lord for thee. Power hath descended forth from thy hand, that our feet may swiftly carry out thy command. So we shall flow a river forth to thee and teeming with souls shall it ever be. In nomine Patris, et fili, et Spiritus Sancti. Amen."
MrMurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 17:20   #4
Skycop1