Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 02-03-2008, 08:44   #1
Mickey

Cops with CCW

I am a full time Officer.I acquired an Ohio CCW Permit years ago just before President Bush signed H.B.218 into Law.This was the Bill that allows Police Officer's to Carry Off Duty anywhere in the Country.
My theory when I applied for the Permit was recipriocity with other states.An Officer carrying out of State at that time was not guaranteed any special Perks if stopped by an out of state agency(Professional Courtesy, as it is called).Ohio's Permit at that time covered approximately 7-8 other states.
Anyhow , here is my question.My Ohio Permit expires in 3 months.Is there any advantages in reapplying for Ohio's Permit?
Mickey

P.S. I am often asked what I think about people carrying guns with a permit.I tell them that Ohio was long overdue.The bad guys always carry.Anywhere and anytime.Why should any Officer be concerned with someone willing to go through a backround check, and training in order to responsibly carry a Firearm.
The best comeback I heard recently about people with CCW permits was this,"Why do you carry a gun?"" Because carrying a Cop would be to heavy."
Mickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 09:04   #2
ok47s

you are good to go in all 50 states under h.b.218,you don't need a ccw.Just keep your badge and i.d. card with you. A retiree needs to make sure he's authorized to carry on his i.d. Medical retirement could be a problem. Be careful in Kalifonia.Some agency's WILL! confiscate on the spot,the standard answer is if you don't like it,sue us.We do as we please.
ok47s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 09:16   #3
Linda

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
My Ohio Permit expires in 3 months.Is there any advantages in reapplying for Ohio's Permit?
Mickey
."
Mickey, thank you for your service and also for having gotten your CHL.