GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2008, 22:15   #1
Damn the Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
I'm moving to NC; seeking advice/details on gun ownership

I'll be moving this summer to North Carolina, and I'm dizzy trying to read the rules about gun ownership on their state website. Can someone who knows the plain English of it help me understand. I've lived in Montana where basically you assumed everyone was carrying concealed and no records were required for private sales. I got most of my guns all my life 2nd hand through the newspaper ads. I've lived in Colorado's Western Slopes for the last 5 years with basically the same rules. The only exception really is private sales at gun shows require background checks (but strangely no records required for newspaper ads), and you need to get a permit "on demand" from the Sheriff. Mine took about 4 minutes to acquire.

My specific questions are:

1)What type of "records" do private sales involve? You need a "permit" from the Sheriff to get a private sale purchase of a handgun but not a long gun? Does that involve the standard ATF background check? Like, does the Sheriff do it then gives you a permit or something? What's this permit thing all about with handgun sales? You need one whether buying from FFL's or private, right?

2)Are private sales allowed at gun shows without background checks? Permits are required for hand guns again, right? But not long or assaults?

I've been trying to figure these things out via Google, but its confusing.

Last edited by Damn the Man; 02-15-2008 at 23:12..
Damn the Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 04:25   #2
Bosko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pilot Mountain, NC
Posts: 42
http://www.jus.state.nc.us/NCJA/ncfirearmslaws.pdf.

While private transfers are not regulated by federal law, they are under state law. Of course, this law is violated in the parking lot of every gun show. The safest course of action is to obtain identification from anyone who sells you a firearm, in case it comes back stolen. Personally, I would not transfer a handgun to anyone who does not have a Sheriff's permit or Concealed Handgun Permit. But, that's just me. Better to err on the side of caution. That said, welcome to North Carolina.
Bosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 07:32   #3
8W56
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damn the Man View Post
I'll be moving this summer to North Carolina, and I'm dizzy trying to read the rules about gun ownership on their state website. Can someone who knows the plain English of it help me understand. I've lived in Montana where basically you assumed everyone was carrying concealed and no records were required for private sales. I got most of my guns all my life 2nd hand through the newspaper ads. I've lived in Colorado's Western Slopes for the last 5 years with basically the same rules. The only exception really is private sales at gun shows require background checks (but strangely no records required for newspaper ads), and you need to get a permit "on demand" from the Sheriff. Mine took about 4 minutes to acquire.

My specific questions are:

1)What type of "records" do private sales involve? You need a "permit" from the Sheriff to get a private sale purchase of a handgun but not a long gun? Does that involve the standard ATF background check? Like, does the Sheriff do it then gives you a permit or something? What's this permit thing all about with handgun sales? You need one whether buying from FFL's or private, right?

2)Are private sales allowed at gun shows without background checks? Permits are required for hand guns again, right? But not long or assaults?

I've been trying to figure these things out via Google, but its confusing.

While a permit is not really required for a private sale it's always a good idea just as a CYA. I've bought and traded plenty of guns from individuals and never had a permit for them. They are required for all FFL purchases. You get them from the Sheriff in the county that you will reside in. In my county you can walk in and walk out with it in less than 10min but some of the larger counties can take longer. There is not a permit requirement for any kind of long gun or assault rifle.
__________________
"Be afraid of no man,
No matter what size.
When trouble threatens, call on me,
For I shall equalize."

Certified Glock Armorer
8W56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 08:03   #4
RichardB
Silver Membership
Senior Member
 
RichardB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,430
http://www.ncrpa.org/
__________________
Richard

“Food for thought is no substitute for the real thing”
RichardB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 10:40   #5
waterdude
Member
 
waterdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 88
Yea, what Bosko said.
waterdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 03:57   #6
Damn the Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks all. It's so curious to me how the handguns got the smackdown by the law, yet the long/assaults are on the opposite end of the spectrum. I've never seen anything so convoluted. I've lived in rural "crime free" areas where virtually everyone's got handguns on or about them. We buy and sell them in the local paper here. I just want to know what's expected of me out there, ya know?

8W56, what county are you in out there that is that laid back that they issue the permits so hassle-free? Doesn't the Sheriff do an "background check" when issuing them? I'm moving to Buncombe County; the Asheville area. Are they the horrible "liberal" types they're made out to be?
Damn the Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:35   #7
8W56
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damn the Man View Post
Thanks all. It's so curious to me how the handguns got the smackdown by the law, yet the long/assaults are on the opposite end of the spectrum. I've never seen anything so convoluted. I've lived in rural "crime free" areas where virtually everyone's got handguns on or about them. We buy and sell them in the local paper here. I just want to know what's expected of me out there, ya know?

8W56, what county are you in out there that is that laid back that they issue the permits so hassle-free? Doesn't the Sheriff do an "background check" when issuing them? I'm moving to Buncombe County; the Asheville area. Are they the horrible "liberal" types they're made out to be?

I'm in Haywood County (next county over from Buncombe). I get them very easy because I am LEO and they all know me. The average person can still get one fairly easy. They do a check through NCIC and AOC to check for anything that will disqualify you. If nothing comes up it's signed and handed to you. I am not sure how Sheriff Duncan is with his department but I can only imagine he is much better than the former Sheriff who is about to be sent to club fed for corruption and gambling charges.
__________________
"Be afraid of no man,
No matter what size.
When trouble threatens, call on me,
For I shall equalize."

Certified Glock Armorer
8W56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 10:34   #8
RichardB
Silver Membership
Senior Member
 
RichardB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,430
"Thanks all. It's so curious to me how the handguns got the smackdown by the law, yet the long/assaults are on the opposite end of the spectrum. "

The concealablity of handguns for use by (potential) criminals.
__________________
Richard

“Food for thought is no substitute for the real thing”
RichardB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 17:25   #9
Glocks&Ducs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,820


Quote:
Originally Posted by 8W56 View Post
While a permit is not really required for a private sale it's always a good idea just as a CYA. I've bought and traded plenty of guns from individuals and never had a permit for them. They are required for all FFL purchases. You get them from the Sheriff in the county that you will reside in. In my county you can walk in and walk out with it in less than 10min but some of the larger counties can take longer. There is not a permit requirement for any kind of long gun or assault rifle.

Not sure where you got your information from. But our state law clearly requires that a "permit to purchase a handgun", or concealed handgun permit be used when a handgun is traded, gifted, or sold within the state. If you are the seller, you must keep the permit of the person who bought the gun from you. Unless they posess a CHP, then you are only required to write up a bill of sale with that persons CHP number on it. There is an exception for LEOs, provided they are buying the gun for performance of their duties.
Glocks&Ducs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 18:29   #10
8W56
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glocks&Ducs View Post
Not sure where you got your information from. But our state law clearly requires that a "permit to purchase a handgun", or concealed handgun permit be used when a handgun is traded, gifted, or sold within the state. If you are the seller, you must keep the permit of the person who bought the gun from you. Unless they posess a CHP, then you are only required to write up a bill of sale with that persons CHP number on it. There is an exception for LEOs, provided they are buying the gun for performance of their duties.
I see you are right on that one. I dont know how many times I have traded, bought and sold guns without one. But on the flip side of that I am Police and it has always been between other Officers so we did not violate any laws according to the AG document that I just read. I have been told many times by people with FFL's that they were not needed for private transfers. The easiest thing to do here is get a CCW permit because it prevents you from needing to buy permits every time you want a handgun.
__________________
"Be afraid of no man,
No matter what size.
When trouble threatens, call on me,
For I shall equalize."

Certified Glock Armorer
8W56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 18:37   #11
Glocks&Ducs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,820


Quote:
Originally Posted by 8W56 View Post
I see you are right on that one. I dont know how many times I have traded, bought and sold guns without one. But on the flip side of that I am Police and it has always been between other Officers so we did not violate any laws according to the AG document that I just read. I have been told many times by people with FFL's that they were not needed for private transfers. The easiest thing to do here is get a CCW permit because it prevents you from needing to buy permits every time you want a handgun.
That depends on how many guns you plan on buying. A CHP is good for five years. Mine cost about $250 to get, once all was said and done. At $5 a permit, I would have to buy 50 guns to break even. Granted that number goes down a little, when you count the $10 police record check fee. But not by much. Especially considering, that not all counties charge a police check fee. Which I still don't understand. Why the hell doesn't the Sheriff have the ability to do record checks on their own? Why do I have to go to the courthouse 50 steps away and pay another $10?
Glocks&Ducs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 17:05   #12
Bosko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pilot Mountain, NC
Posts: 42
Everybody wants to drink from the pond. The Stokes County Sheriff's Office requires CHP applicants to go to the Clerk of the Court (same building - 1 flight up) and pay $15.00 (up from $10.00) for a criminal history check. This record will reflect either no arrests in only Stokes County or provide a record of arrests, again only in Stokes County. The Sheriff's DCI Terminal Operator can do the same thing by inquiring of the North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts. The DCI Terminal Operator may request a criminal defendant name check for a specific county (Stokes) or search state wide.
Bosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 18:21   #13
Glocks&Ducs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,820


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bosko View Post
Everybody wants to drink from the pond. The Stokes County Sheriff's Office requires CHP applicants to go to the Clerk of the Court (same building - 1 flight up) and pay $15.00 (up from $10.00) for a criminal history check. This record will reflect either no arrests in only Stokes County or provide a record of arrests, again only in Stokes County. The Sheriff's DCI Terminal Operator can do the same thing by inquiring of the North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts. The DCI Terminal Operator may request a criminal defendant name check for a specific county (Stokes) or search state wide.
What they are doing ought to be illegal. They aren't providing a service, they are creating a need where there is none. And it is purely for the sake of making a buck. I was even talking to a girl at a gun shop one day, and she said they wouldn't take her record check that she had just gotten about three days earlier for a job. They forced her to get a new record check.
Glocks&Ducs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 20:00   #14
Thx-1138
NRA Member
 
Thx-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,088
In Wake County, it takes time for the background check for a pistol purchase permit. I'm not sure how long, but I've heard it can be several weeks.

You can get up to five purchase permits at a single time.


If you have a CHP, you don't need to get purchase permits.


There is nothing you need to do about firearms you bring into the state when you move.
__________________
Cogito ergo armo: G17, G39, TCP
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Bull Dawgs: #1138; Carolina Glockers: #1138
Socialism: Legalized theft supported by those who divide the spoils, and opposed by those who are robbed.
Thx-1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 20:46   #15
Bosko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pilot Mountain, NC
Posts: 42
G&D, Have you heard the one about the man driving through Nevada? He stopped for gas at a little place out in the middle of nowhere. While paying for his gas and grabbing a cold drink, he noticed that there were men in the back room playing roulette. After watching for a while, it became apparent to him that the roulette wheel was crooked. He remarked to a spectator, "Don't you people know that the wheel is fixed?" "Yes", the spectator replied, "but it's the only wheel we have." Moral of the story: You gotta know when to hold 'em. You gotta know when to fold 'em (Kenny Rodgers).
Bosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 02:30   #16
Damn the Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
So the experiences vary by county apparently? I'm moving to Asheville. What will getting a CHL involve? Price, etc.?

I have an old deferred and later dismissed charge from a while back where I live now. I've always wondered about the "criminal check" and how they define things like "drug and alcohol user and/or addict" (mine was a possession charge). I've never seen the interpretation of that one; like are you "for life" is you "were" a user that was caught (three years sober now, BTW). Just wondering. Thanks all for the info.
Damn the Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 12:13   #17
Glocks&Ducs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,820


Quote:
Originally Posted by Damn the Man View Post
So the experiences vary by county apparently? I'm moving to Asheville. What will getting a CHL involve? Price, etc.?

I have an old deferred and later dismissed charge from a while back where I live now. I've always wondered about the "criminal check" and how they define things like "drug and alcohol user and/or addict" (mine was a possession charge). I've never seen the interpretation of that one; like are you "for life" is you "were" a user that was caught (three years sober now, BTW). Just wondering. Thanks all for the info.
Don't know how it would be in that county, or the answer to your specific question. But I had to get a police check from every county I had lived in for the past ten years, which stretched from California to Illinois and back here to NC due to being in the military. And I paid $125 for the class, then later found out I could have gotten the same thing for $50 somewhere else. So definitely shop around when it comes to the class.
Glocks&Ducs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 12:14   #18
Glocks&Ducs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,820


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bosko View Post
G&D, Have you heard the one about the man driving through Nevada? He stopped for gas at a little place out in the middle of nowhere. While paying for his gas and grabbing a cold drink, he noticed that there were men in the back room playing roulette. After watching for a while, it became apparent to him that the roulette wheel was crooked. He remarked to a spectator, "Don't you people know that the wheel is fixed?" "Yes", the spectator replied, "but it's the only wheel we have." Moral of the story: You gotta know when to hold 'em. You gotta know when to fold 'em (Kenny Rodgers).
Yep. I know the story. But that doesn't have to stop me from pointing out that our system is run by crooks.
Glocks&Ducs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 15:07   #19
Damn the Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Oh, I see. The class was half of that $250. So all those other background checks must have added up too, huh? Then the license had a fee?

I'm taking a "defensive driving" class right now for a reduced ticket; don't get me started on paying someone money to show me how to use something I've been using for 20+ years.
Damn the Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 15:54   #20
NC Bullseye
Senior Member
 
NC Bullseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Foothills
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damn the Man View Post
So the experiences vary by county apparently? I'm moving to Asheville. What will getting a CHL involve? Price, etc.?

I have an old deferred and later dismissed charge from a while back where I live now. I've always wondered about the "criminal check" and how they define things like "drug and alcohol user and/or addict" (mine was a possession charge). I've never seen the interpretation of that one; like are you "for life" is you "were" a user that was caught (three years sober now, BTW). Just wondering. Thanks all for the info.
Here is a link to a thread in which I have provided the NC state requirements to obtain a CHP. Just to save a little space here instead of duplicating the info again.

http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=826036

Many sheriffs offices have web sites and will list their requirements they have to obtain a CHP.

Good luck and welcome to Tar Heel country!

Here is another link that may help. Found it after I posted the above.

http://www.buncombecounty.org/living....htm#gunPermit

Last edited by NC Bullseye; 02-20-2008 at 15:59.. Reason: Found link
NC Bullseye is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 00:01.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 733
182 Members
551 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31