SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 06-30-2008, 17:32   #1
ugly8604

Celox?

Hey guys, question for you-
I'm a police officer in a medium sized city, where we have our fair share of shootings and stabbings. A couple of my partners have started carrying this stuff called Celox. Apparently it's some kindo f grain substance that is supposed to obsorb into a major wound and stop arterial bleeding within minutes. I think it sounds like a great idea, BUT, will this stuff affect your job in a negative way? I don't want to do more harm than good.

Heres a link:
http://www.celoxmedical.com/?page=tinfo
ugly8604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 20:22   #2
Splanchnic

Seems to be good stuff. There isn't a ton of real-world use with it but it is similar to another product (Hemcon) which is extensively used by the military.

I would (and do) recommend it for police officers, especially tactical officers. There is little to no harm using it and it potentially can save a life.
Splanchnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 07:18   #3
FiremanMike
Way too busy

Before you get that stuff you need to sit down with your medical director (if you don't have one, get one) and do some heavy research. Those powders, while life saving, cause thermal damage due to the chemical reaction that occurs. There are reports that many times this thermal damage to the tissue requires HEAVY debridement and can even lead to amputation of the effected limb.

There was, apparently, one manufacturer that claimed this didn't occur with their product, this may be that product..

In my honest opinion, as an EMS instructor for 4 years, and a paramedic for 8, carry a pair of gloves and some trauma dressings and hold direct pressure until we can arrive.

Remember the order of bleeding control

1. Direct Pressure
2. Elevation
3. Pressure Point (nearest artery)