Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2008, 07:17   #1
GeorgeAtl
Senior Member
 
GeorgeAtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Atlanta...most of the time.
Posts: 4,636
Going from Cable to DSL...have questions...

Well, we're so disgusted with our Cable Provider that we're going to switch to DSL for our Internet at Home. The service currently is down more than it's working, and has been down (this time) for a week.
The cable company is the only one in our area, so they have a monopoly which leads to poor service....so we're kicking them out.
Couple of questions....
1. Can we use the cable modem that we have, or will there be a new modem with their service?
2. Can we use our wireless router with new said DSL service? It's a Linksys 802.11.
3. With the cable service, we were using Vonage which we were very happy with. Will vonage work with the DSL, or since we're going with AT&T will we go to their landline service?

Thanks for your help in advance!!
GeorgeATL
__________________
"There's only one basic human right, the right to do as you damn well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, the duty to take the consequences."
-- P.J. O'Rourke
GeorgeAtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 07:40   #2
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,317
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeAtl View Post
Well, we're so disgusted with our Cable Provider that we're going to switch to DSL for our Internet at Home. The service currently is down more than it's working, and has been down (this time) for a week.
The cable company is the only one in our area, so they have a monopoly which leads to poor service....so we're kicking them out.
Couple of questions....
1. Can we use the cable modem that we have, or will there be a new modem with their service?
2. Can we use our wireless router with new said DSL service? It's a Linksys 802.11.
3. With the cable service, we were using Vonage which we were very happy with. Will vonage work with the DSL, or since we're going with AT&T will we go to their landline service?

Thanks for your help in advance!!
GeorgeATL
1. Depends, they'll probably provide you a modem as part of the service, but if you want to use yours, ask the install tech(assuming you've purchased it, and it won't have to be returned to the cable company when you cancel).
2. The router shouldn't be an issue once its set up and configured w/ the new connection.
3. I don't see why Vonage wouldn't work. However, you might be able to get some sort of package deal if you use your provider's internet phone service.

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 08:20   #3
Washington,D.C.
Senior Member
 
Washington,D.C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Woestyn Kusdorp
Posts: 14,180
You must use a DSK modem that goes with the DSL company or one that has settings that can be adjusted. The adjustable settings ones are rare and expensive. Usually (but not always) the DSL company will provide the DSL modem "Free" if you keep the service at least one year. If you drop the service in less than a year you must pay their full price for the modem. If the modem goes bad you must buy a replacement but they usually last 5 years give or take a couple of years. The cable modem won't work at all. The wireless router or any router should work. Some DSL modems have wireless routers but those don't work very well. You do not need to install any of the software supplied by the DSL company. I don't think it matters which DSL company you use but it does require a phone line to the house. Vontage is suppose to work with DSL but depends what speed/bandwidth DSL you can get at your location. For DSL the location is important. This is not the "speed" the DSL company offers but the speed that really works at your location. Different DSL companies can use the same phone lines so it shouldn't matter which DSL company you choose but often only a couple of DSL companies are offered in each location. Vontage might be a factor because a too slow connection will mess up Vontage.
Washington,D.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 08:25   #4
WINGS
CLM Number 18
Charter Lifetime Member
 
WINGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 4,437


What a luxury to have a choice. We're stuck with our cable company and there is no DSL service available in our area. What's really a PITA is getting your new email address to all of those sites......if you can even remember which ones you have to log onto. We started to keep user names and password in a little book that's kept in the gun safe. It really helps.
__________________
NRA Life Member
After Monday and Tuesday,
even the calendar says W T F
WINGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 08:46   #5
GeorgeAtl
Senior Member
 
GeorgeAtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Atlanta...most of the time.
Posts: 4,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by WINGS View Post
What a luxury to have a choice. We're stuck with our cable company and there is no DSL service available in our area. What's really a PITA is getting your new email address to all of those sites......if you can even remember which ones you have to log onto. We started to keep user names and password in a little book that's kept in the gun safe. It really helps.
I don't plan on changing my E-Mail addy, and neither does my fiancee. It was not necessary with Charter Hi-Speed (who we're leaving) and it won't be necessary with AT&T.
Changing your E-Mail address is a bigger PITA than changing your STREET ADDRESS!!

Thanks for your responses....keep 'em coming, you latecomers!!
__________________
"There's only one basic human right, the right to do as you damn well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, the duty to take the consequences."
-- P.J. O'Rourke
GeorgeAtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 09:07   #6
WINGS
CLM Number 18
Charter Lifetime Member
 
WINGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 4,437


Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeAtl View Post
I don't plan on changing my E-Mail addy, and neither does my fiancee. It was not necessary with Charter Hi-Speed (who we're leaving) and it won't be necessary with AT&T.
Changing your E-Mail address is a bigger PITA than changing your STREET ADDRESS!!

Thanks for your responses....keep 'em coming, you latecomers!!
Not sure how that works because every time I have changed ISPs my email address changed. Like from ***@verizon.net to ***@comcast.net and your username isn't always available.
__________________
NRA Life Member
After Monday and Tuesday,
even the calendar says W T F
WINGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 09:31   #7
Sgt. Schultz
Annoying Member
 
Sgt. Schultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 2,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by WINGS View Post
Not sure how that works because every time I have changed ISPs my email address changed. Like from ***@verizon.net to ***@comcast.net and your username isn't always available.
The same company probably owns then both. I've manage to stay with the same ISP for about 10 years so I haven't had to worry about changing e-mail addresses. Several years ago I started using yahoo and gmail as my primary e-mail addresses so changing from one to another is not a concern anymore.
__________________
Sgt. Schultz

"I have come here to chew bubble gum and kick ass ... and I'm all out of bubble gum"
Sgt. Schultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 09:32   #8
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,317
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by WINGS View Post
Not sure how that works because every time I have changed ISPs my email address changed. Like from ***@verizon.net to ***@comcast.net and your username isn't always available.
This is the beautiful thing about using an email address that is not dependant on a service provider. Gmail, Yahoo, and AOL, all have pretty good features on their web based email. I hate Hotmail.

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 09:40   #9
GeorgeAtl
Senior Member
 
GeorgeAtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Atlanta...most of the time.
Posts: 4,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by WINGS View Post
Not sure how that works because every time I have changed ISPs my email address changed. Like from ***@verizon.net to ***@comcast.net and your username isn't always available.
I just use my Earthlink TotalAccess E-Mail program. I've used Earthlink since about 1995, with no problems.....even though I was accessing the internet thru Charter, I didn't need a "charter.net" e-mail addy, and neither did my fiancee.
__________________
"There's only one basic human right, the right to do as you damn well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, the duty to take the consequences."
-- P.J. O'Rourke
GeorgeAtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 09:51   #10
Sgt. Schultz
Annoying Member
 
Sgt. Schultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 2,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyGunFreak View Post
This is the beautiful thing about using an email address that is not dependant on a service provider. Gmail, Yahoo, and AOL, all have pretty good features on their web based email. I hate Hotmail.

IGF
... and most if not all of them can be configured to use your favorite e-mail program.
__________________
Sgt. Schultz

"I have come here to chew bubble gum and kick ass ... and I'm all out of bubble gum"
Sgt. Schultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 13:42   #11
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,317
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt. Schultz View Post
... and most if not all of them can be configured to use your favorite e-mail program.
A benefit I forgot to mention..

I'm not sure about the others, but I know Gmail accounts can be setup w/ any mail client..

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 15:11.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,123
327 Members
796 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31