GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2008, 12:58   #1
KRB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 19
Colorado Concealed Carry

I have a concealed handgun license from Michigan, which Colorado honors. I will be going to Colorado in a few weeks, and I wanted to ensure that I do not inadvertently violate the law. I have been to the RMGO site and Handgunlaw.us, but had a couple of questions that I could not find the answer to:

1. Is there any prohibition against carrying in a bar or other establishment that serves alcohol? Michigan allows in restaurants, but not in bars (defined as making 50% or more of its income from alcohol).

2. Is there any prohibition (other than common sense) against carrying a handgun after you've been drinking. (I mean like a beer with lunch). Michigan law prohibits BAC over 0.02 percent.

3. Does it violate the law to carry on the premises of a business that is posted "no handguns"? In Michigan, it does not, but if they somehow find out that you are carrying and tell you to leave and you don't, you are guilty of trespass.

Thanks for any answers anyone can give me.
KRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 14:57   #2
Lady Glock
Senior Member
 
Lady Glock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 3,493
Send a message via ICQ to Lady Glock
They recently reworked the CCW in Colorado...so I'm not sure.

I will say when I lived there less than a year ago, I could conceal carry in the bar. I'm not aware of any prohibition based on drinking, and I really have no knowledge for the last question, sorry.
__________________
This is ok, right? I'm not breaking any rules or making anyone mad at me for this comment, Right?

Trust in God...Everyone else keep your hands where I can see them!
Lady Glock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 20:52   #3
The-Fly
The Bofh
 
The-Fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 3,303
I'm a Firearms instructor here in Colorado, so i think i can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KRB View Post
I have a concealed handgun license from Michigan, which Colorado honors. I will be going to Colorado in a few weeks, and I wanted to ensure that I do not inadvertently violate the law. I have been to the RMGO site and Handgunlaw.us, but had a couple of questions that I could not find the answer to:

1. Is there any prohibition against carrying in a bar or other establishment that serves alcohol? Michigan allows in restaurants, but not in bars (defined as making 50% or more of its income from alcohol).
Colorado law makes NO restrictions on WHERE you carry in terms of alcohol. You're not supposed to be "under the influence" while carrying, but there's no % of BAC given. Generally most instructors (including myself) say that you shouldn't drink while carrying (or at VERY most, 1 beer after a good meal).

Quote:
2. Is there any prohibition (other than common sense) against carrying a handgun after you've been drinking. (I mean like a beer with lunch). Michigan law prohibits BAC over 0.02 percent.
see above answer

Quote:
3. Does it violate the law to carry on the premises of a business that is posted "no handguns"? In Michigan, it does not, but if they somehow find out that you are carrying and tell you to leave and you don't, you are guilty of trespass.
Officially, its NOT clear what the law here says in regards to that. Most (but not all) of the instructors and knowledgeable cops that I've talked with hold the opinion that "no guns" signs on private property mean jack squat. I also hold to that belief. Additionally, I've never heard of a SINGLE case in Colorado of someone going into a private property "no guns" area, and being arrested afterwards.

Fortunately, there's very very very few areas that have "no guns" signs, and I've personally never seen one in this state (though I do know they exist).

Quote:
Thanks for any answers anyone can give me.
Welcome and have a safe trip.
__________________
Driver carries less than $20 of remorse.
The-Fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 05:42   #4
KRB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 19
Thanks

Lady Glock & The-Fly: Thanks very much.
KRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,159
354 Members
805 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42