Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 07-14-2002, 20:47   #1
Esox357

Stand Sight For Deer?

Hey guys I am new to deer hunting, I have a rifle permit and am planning on getting a bow permit. I see deer on this land but do not want to invade on their routine, Where do I put my stand? Away from where I am seeing them or where they are? Also I know that this question is kind of vague but where do you setup a tree stand for bowhunting. Along a creek, a worn deer trail, a fence line that intersects a food plot? Where? Also do you sit all day on the stand or hunt morning hours and evening only? Thanks Esox357
Old 07-15-2002, 01:25   #2
Sixgun357

I would put the stand where you could get the best clear shot for rifle and bow. Consider getting even close while your bow hunt maybe even right over the trail where the deer run. I dont hunt with a stand. but consider getting out to your stand one half hour before hunting time begins stay till about 10am then head out to your stand at about 3 pm for you evening hunt. I like to get out to my spot about one hour early for my mourning hunt becuase I like just being out in the woods.

For god, my country and my AR-15...
Just not necessarily in that order.
Sixgun357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2002, 08:28   #3
Jethro

It depends...there isn't a simple answer for all situations and there are often multiple options for any given stand site. Keep in mind that bow shots are rarely longer than 40 yards and most of the deer I have arrowed have been inside of 25 yards. Rifle shooting affords you a very different capability and could very well mean you will try a different location...then again maybe not. Add to that the fact that deer are only rarely spooked off by massive numbers of hunters during bow season and that during gun season their behavior patterns will change dramatically.