GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2008, 15:23   #1
Mr. Niceguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MO
Posts: 1,097
PC is totally hosed up - help please!

Well, the downstairs computer, which is used by the wife & kids is apparently infected badly. The sysptoms are:

generally running like crap
homepage has been hijacked, and cannot be changed
can no longer access any of the anti-virus programs on the machine
any time an attempt is made to visit an anti-virus website, the page either comes up as "cannot display", or you get totally re-directed to an irrelevant page

This is really frustrating. Can anyone help please?!?!?!?!?!?!
Mr. Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 15:27   #2
Zonny
Senior Member
 
Zonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 14,166


Can you run your Anti-virus program in Safe-Mode?
__________________
“Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”
― Dr. Seuss ...
Zonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 15:29   #3
HerrGlock
CLM Number 2
Scouts Out
 
HerrGlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64,421


Do you have another computer to download a floppy or CD based anti-virus program?

Are you savvy enough to take your hard drive out and put it into another computer as the secondary drive and scan it from the other computer?
__________________
Sent from my rotary phone
"The way I see it as soon as a baby is born, he should be issued a banjo!"- Linus Van Pelt
UNIX - Not just for Vestal Virgins any more
HerrGlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 15:31   #4
Mr. Niceguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MO
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonny View Post
Can you run your Anti-virus program in Safe-Mode?
I'll check - thanks!
Mr. Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 15:32   #5
Mr. Niceguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MO
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerrGlock View Post
Do you have another computer to download a floppy or CD based anti-virus program?

Are you savvy enough to take your hard drive out and put it into another computer as the secondary drive and scan it from the other computer?
yes to the first, and definitely NO to the second question!
Mr. Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 15:32   #6
Mr. Niceguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MO
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonny View Post
Can you run your Anti-virus program in Safe-Mode?
It turns out that no, I can't.
Mr. Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 15:33   #7
sdglock22
Senior Member
 
sdglock22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Whitewood SD
Posts: 175
You can try going to the website of your antivirus program, ie symantec and they usually have some way to scan your computer from the site. May or may not work, worth looking into tho.
sdglock22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 15:39   #8
Mr. Niceguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MO
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdglock22 View Post
You can try going to the website of your antivirus program, ie symantec and they usually have some way to scan your computer from the site. May or may not work, worth looking into tho.
You see, here's the rub. I can pretty much access any website that I want, unless it has to do with spyware, virus, or malware removal, or a forum discussing such matters. When I try to, it either does not find the page, or it re-directs me to some random website.
Mr. Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 15:39   #9
Hyksos
Senior Member
 
Hyksos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Jupiter/Miami, FL
Posts: 1,749
I don't know whats its worth, but if you ctrl+alt+del into task manager and look at your processes tab, theres a list of every program that is running on your computer right now.

It may be difficult to the untrained eye, but basically, look for any processes with really messed up names that don't seem normal....or even a blank name. These are the viruses running in the background and you can manually "end process" on every one you suspect is bad, and then hopefully can run a virus scan with the potential viruses disabled. If you reboot you must re-do this process...

ALSO:

Go to your start bar and click on Run, in the box that pops up type in msconfig just as its displayed there, one word, msconfig

The box that pops up has many tabs on the top, select the "startup" tab and it will show you every possible program that can start with your computer, disable them all if you have to, but again LOOK for any program name that seems weird...or has no name at all. Odds are, it's a virus.
Hyksos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 15:52   #10
Minskin85
Senior Member
 
Minskin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 407
this didnt help CJ but it might help you:
http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/show...4#post11636904
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldguy68 View Post
He mentioned being a ninja and that he works at a mall sometimes.
Minskin85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 15:59   #11
Historian
Lifetime Membership
NRA Benefactor
 
Historian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burried in history books
Posts: 9,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Niceguy View Post
You see, here's the rub. I can pretty much access any website that I want, unless it has to do with spyware, virus, or malware removal, or a forum discussing such matters. When I try to, it either does not find the page, or it re-directs me to some random website.
Just for grins:

Try removing from Add/Remove software anything that looks odd or any freeware crap someone might have installed.

On the good PC use a thumb drive or a CD to get a copy of CCleaner or CW Shredder from someplace like download.com and while your add it...trying getting a copy of adaware or something like that.

Run these on the infected PC and see what they can rip out.

That might get you to the point where your antivirus might help.
__________________
"We study the past to understand the present; we understand the present to guide the future." -- William Lund

-Historian-
Historian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 16:02   #12
Dragoon44
Lifetime Membership
Unfair Facist
 
Dragoon44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 24,187
Save yourself a lot of useless effort and reformat and reinstall windows.
__________________
“Right is still right, even if nobody is doing it. And wrong is still wrong, even if everybody is doing it.”—Texas Ranger saying.
Dragoon44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 16:02   #13
RonS
Senior Member
 
RonS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Oh, USA
Posts: 10,181
http://ask-leo.com/how_do_i_run_an_a...cant_boot.html

There is some advice here on how to make a CD on another pc, boot up using that CD and run an anti virus scan on the PC. Complicated, but you don't have an easy problem.

Good luck.
__________________
Decent law abiding people must fear criminals and the law while criminals have nothing to fear.
RonS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 16:05   #14
Historian
Lifetime Membership
NRA Benefactor
 
Historian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burried in history books
Posts: 9,560
Something else to consider. Have them run under a User level account. Most people run as administrators and that gives crap-ware a real edge in infecting your machine. Least rights is what you're looking for.

At work I run as a power user on my PC. Then use Run As commands to run as an enterprise admin if needed to make things happen.
__________________
"We study the past to understand the present; we understand the present to guide the future." -- William Lund

-Historian-
Historian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 16:11   #15
SaWuttae
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 171
"Save yourself a lot of useless effort and reformat and reinstall windows."

I second that.....a lot of the new spyware junk is really hard to completely remove, and will take much more time than reformatting. Save whatever important pictures documents you need to a thumb drive and wipe it.
SaWuttae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 16:13   #16
Drilled
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,509
Install these and run them:
http://www.iobit.com/advancedwindows...l?Str=download
http://www.iobit.com/avg-com.html#
free versions.
Install this:
http://www.filehippo.com/download_ccleaner/
free.
Buy this:
http://www.webroot.com/En_US/index.html

Use this Browser:
http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/

And if your kids are using the machine think twice about that.
__________________
“The Constitution shall never be construed... to prevent the people of the United States who are peaceable citizens from keeping their own arms.” —Samuel Adams
Drilled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 16:14   #17
GeorgeAtl
Senior Member
 
GeorgeAtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Atlanta...most of the time.
Posts: 4,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoon44 View Post
Save yourself a lot of useless effort and reformat and reinstall windows.
+1 What he said....

After all, you've got a backup of all essential files, right?
I thought so!!
__________________
"There's only one basic human right, the right to do as you damn well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, the duty to take the consequences."
-- P.J. O'Rourke
GeorgeAtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 16:19   #18
dotsun
conf t
 
dotsun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoon44 View Post
Save yourself a lot of useless effort and reformat and reinstall windows.
+ Do this like now. Nuke it from orbit, it's the only way to be sure...
dotsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 16:19   #19
HerrGlock
CLM Number 2
Scouts Out
 
HerrGlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64,421


Fdisk, format, reinstall
Windows, Windows...
(Sung to Camptown Races)
__________________
Sent from my rotary phone
"The way I see it as soon as a baby is born, he should be issued a banjo!"- Linus Van Pelt
UNIX - Not just for Vestal Virgins any more
HerrGlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 16:32   #20
Elmer Fudd
Senior Member
 
Elmer Fudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 914
I would recommend a zero fill of the hard drive and a reinstallation of Windows.

A zero fill utility is available on the hard drive manufacturers web site. Sometimes you have to search for it. This is a low level format that writes a zero to every bit (?) on the drive. This is the state that a new drive comes from the factory, and is the only way to be sure you completely wipe the drive. A high level format will not do this.

If you don't have a backup of the wife's or kid's stuff, tell them too bad. A painful lesson for them on computer security. If your wife did any banking on that computer I would change your logins and passwords.
Elmer Fudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 18:29   #21
Big Al 24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerrGlock View Post
Fdisk, format, reinstall
Windows, Windows...
(Sung to Camptown Races)
They all said it best. The only thing that hasn't been said, is please take that machine off the internet ASAP- you don't know what it's doing. If possible, get someone with a clean machine to burn you the windows service packs which your disks may be missing and get the machine updated and virus protected before connecting to the internet. There are a few excellent virus/spyware removers that are free AVG, AVIRA, AVAST, and others.
Big Al 24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 18:40   #22
Mr. Niceguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MO
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Al 24 View Post
They all said it best. The only thing that hasn't been said, is please take that machine off the internet ASAP- you don't know what it's doing. If possible, get someone with a clean machine to burn you the windows service packs which your disks may be missing and get the machine updated and virus protected before connecting to the internet. There are a few excellent virus/spyware removers that are free AVG, AVIRA, AVAST, and others.
Yes, it's long since been disconnected from my LAN.

I appreciate everone's advice. I'm spending the rest of the evening doing less stressful activities - will check back in in the morning.
Mr. Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 19:36   #23
grokdesigns
Senior Member
 
grokdesigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 563
http://grokdesigns.com/kb/index.php/...pyware-removal
grokdesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 07:00   #24
Bronson7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Murray,Kentucky
Posts: 1,205
Dang!!!! Ah, Er, Did you try a Restore? If that doesn't work, try a repair install.
Bronson7
Bronson7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 08:57   #25
Mr. Niceguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MO
Posts: 1,097
Well, I downloaded malwarebytes, adaware, spybot, and ccleaner to a cd on my laptop, and am in the process of running them on the infected pc. Seems to be making progress. Thanks for your suggestions!
Mr. Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:37.



Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,170
357 Members
813 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 11:42