GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2008, 19:46   #1
Nicky D
CLM Number 42
Charter Lifetime Member
 
Nicky D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Souderton, Pa.
Posts: 3,260
Hard Drive Question

I built a computer back in the spring, well I am doing it again to replace the previously replaced computer. My question is whether or not I can remove the second hard drive from my current computer and put into my new one that I am building.

The 2nd drive is just storage not master. The system that it is in is running Vista Ultimate 64bit just like the one I am going to build. If I can do it great if not no big deal, this only has my pictures on it and worse case scenario I can transfer from pc to pc once everything is networked but I figure this would save a boatload of time. Transferring several GB of photos takes a long time.
__________________
Nick
NRA,RFA,
Pennsylvania Glocker #90
Niner's #7172
Nicky D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 20:05   #2
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,693
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicky D View Post
I built a computer back in the spring, well I am doing it again to replace the previously replaced computer. My question is whether or not I can remove the second hard drive from my current computer and put into my new one that I am building.

The 2nd drive is just storage not master. The system that it is in is running Vista Ultimate 64bit just like the one I am going to build. If I can do it great if not no big deal, this only has my pictures on it and worse case scenario I can transfer from pc to pc once everything is networked but I figure this would save a boatload of time. Transferring several GB of photos takes a long time.
I don't see why you couldn't. If the drive is IDE, and the new motherboard has an IDE slot, or if its SATA, it has a free SATA port, I don't see why you couldn't, especially if its just a data drive.

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 20:47   #3
DoubleWide
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicky D View Post
I built a computer back in the spring, well I am doing it again to replace the previously replaced computer. My question is whether or not I can remove the second hard drive from my current computer and put into my new one that I am building.

The 2nd drive is just storage not master. The system that it is in is running Vista Ultimate 64bit just like the one I am going to build. If I can do it great if not no big deal, this only has my pictures on it and worse case scenario I can transfer from pc to pc once everything is networked but I figure this would save a boatload of time. Transferring several GB of photos takes a long time.
Since the drive is just storage, 2 things matter
1. format (Fat32, NTFS, etc)
2. connection (IDE, SATA)

You're building a similar computer so no problem on either.

For others, if it's a master drive with the OS (Windows, etc.), the drivers for the motherboard, sound, video, etc. will be different. You're better off wiping the drive and reinstalling the OS, but it can work. It just won't run at its best.
DoubleWide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 22:04   #4
Blitzer
Cool Cat
 
Blitzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The communist's play ground of OHIO
Posts: 26,617
Send a message via AIM to Blitzer Send a message via Yahoo to Blitzer
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleWide View Post
Since the drive is just storage, 2 things matter
1. format (Fat32, NTFS, etc)
2. connection (IDE, SATA)

You're building a similar computer so no problem on either.

For others, if it's a master drive with the OS (Windows, etc.), the drivers for the motherboard, sound, video, etc. will be different. You're better off wiping the drive and reinstalling the OS, but it can work. It just won't run at its best.
Ditto+
__________________
It doesn't matter what the Joe on the street thinks, it is who pays the biggest bribes to the electoral college gets elected as President! :crying:
Blitzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 04:58   #5
Nicky D
CLM Number 42
Charter Lifetime Member
 
Nicky D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Souderton, Pa.
Posts: 3,260
Thanks, I figured it would be ok, just wanted to check.
__________________
Nick
NRA,RFA,
Pennsylvania Glocker #90
Niner's #7172
Nicky D is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 00:05.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 936
225 Members
711 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31