Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 11-24-2008, 09:18   #1
MDbuell

thinking of joining the army national guard

I have been looking at the national guard website but am not ready to have a recruiter contact me so I bow down to the knowledge of the army forum. First off I am not ready to have the recruiter contact me because I need to get into much better shape before I am decent enough for basic.

My main question concerns mental health. I am bipolar. I am medicated and have it under control but would this make me unwanted by the military? I would be dissapointed becasue I would be able to join as an officer since I have my degree in criminal justice and would love to serve my country in the MP. Thanks for any help you can give me.

Thought of another question. would i be able to go full time in the guard ie make a career out of it?

Last edited by MDbuell; 11-24-2008 at 09:24..
MDbuell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 16:03   #2
pt945
GLOCK 17

several things...1 not sure what state you live in but check with some people in the guard to help get you in.... they are in a program called g-rap it is a recruitment program where the person can get $2000 for getting you in... most guys in the guard use the the bonus.

2 remember if the docs at meps or your recruiter do not specifically ask if you are bi-polar do not offer up the information.

3 most officers if i am not mistaken go to ocs to become an officer. i am not sure but i believe they place you where you are needed but do not count on that with out further checking.

4 thank you for wanting to serve our country.

5 check to make sure there are slots in your area, i am in the tn ntl guard and i drive 200+ miles to drill because there were no enlisted slots.

6 call your local units and check on their deployment status.