Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 08-14-2002, 18:24   #1
Z34Lee
Rush is Right!

Send a message via AIM to Z34Lee Send a message via Yahoo to Z34Lee
Oops...squirrel season starts tomorrow

I just checked my state's DNR website and squirrel season starts tomorrow. I thought some season was opening soon, but I'm a little underprepared. I've done a fair amount of squirrel hunting in the past but I'm still a pretty novice hunter. I've cleaned 6 squirrels and cooked them up but I'm still looking for more good sources of information in that area. Can anyone help me out? I doubt that I'll be able to clean these right away. Any recommendations on what to do with them until I can get to cleaning them? Also storing methods and things like that would be very helpful. Thanks.
Top Guns .357 Sig Club #432
.40S&W Club #432
H,F,& C Club #432

"Reckon so" - The Outlaw Josey Wales
Z34Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2002, 18:48   #2
mpol777
Feral Member

i wouldn't wait to clean them. you should clean them as soon as possible and get them in the freezer or cook them. it seems to take a while when you first get started, but after a few dozen of them you'll be able to clean 6 out in 10-15 minutes. if you've ever seen an old experienced hunter clean game you'll know what i mean. it just takes practice.

as for storing wash them off with cool water that has a little bit of salt in it. them pat them dry with a towel and toss 'em in a freezer bag.
Old 08-14-2002, 23:04   #3
method

Our's starts Friday. Went down to Walmart after reading this thread before and got my license and a pak of MiniMags. It's about all the hunting I'll be able to do before leaving Ohio, I'm gonna miss the woods like we've got.
method is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2002, 03:30   #4
mikescooling

I'M kinda stating the basic but somebody might not know?