GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2008, 16:53   #1
NateHodge
Here too much
 
NateHodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Laurel, MS
Posts: 4,356
Brand new HP has frozen up 3 times. Ideas?

I bought an HP laptop a week ago. The only thing I have put on here are Full Tilt Poker and Limewire the day I got it. And tuesday, I put Itunes on here. Tuesday night, while playing poker, it froze up. Even Ctrl-Alt-Del didn't get me a response. It did the same thing wednesday, and again just a few minutes ago.

At first, I was thinking it was Itunes since it ran like a sewing machine until the day I installed Itunes. But thinking back, all three times it locked up, I was playing poker. Any ideas? Has anyone heard of any issues with the programs I have installed?

FYI: I am running Vista 64-Bit and I use Norton.
__________________
Quote:
Take him saltwater fishing. If you can't talk some sense into him, don't bring him back.
NateHodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 16:57   #2
betyourlife
on a GLOCK
 
betyourlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,553
Return it?
betyourlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 17:18   #3
stolivar
Senior Member
 
stolivar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 820
First problem is limewire

IT is one of the biggest problems on letting in spyware, virus's and trojans.


steve
stolivar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 17:43   #4
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,364
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by stolivar View Post
IT is one of the biggest problems on letting in spyware, virus's and trojans.


steve
I'd have to agree, but it doesn't appear Limewire is the culprit.

Use the Laptiop for anything but Full Tilt for a while, and see if all goes well. Maybe a couple hours. After said couple of hours, if nothing happens, fire up Full Tilt, and see how it goes. If it Freezes up w/ Full Tilt running, thats a pretty good indication.

Beyond that, does it appear the Fans are running, Good ventilation, etc?

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 17:45   #5
NateHodge
Here too much
 
NateHodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Laurel, MS
Posts: 4,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by betyourlife View Post
Return it?
I'm guessint that would be a no-go. I'd be willing to bet they would claim "software issues causes by third party vendors".


Quote:
Originally Posted by stolivar View Post
IT is one of the biggest problems on letting in spyware, virus's and trojans.


steve
I agree 100% that people with no knowledge of what to look for should stay the hell away from limewire. It is a big outlet for Trojans and trackers, but like I said, alot of people don't know what to look for or how to safely use it. And, people that don't know what they are doing use it blindly with no protection. So far, I have had 2 other computers and have run limewire on both without a hitch. My step dad has also had 2 laptops that he run limewire on with no issues. But I don't allow anyone to download anything onto my machines. On this HP in particular, I haven't even downloaded anything.
__________________
Quote:
Take him saltwater fishing. If you can't talk some sense into him, don't bring him back.
NateHodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 17:46   #6
volsbear
Lifetime Membership
IWannaBeSedated
 
volsbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 12,111
How much memory?
__________________
"Fast is fine. But accuracy is final."

"He'd look better with lividity" - BlueIron

Black Rifle Club - RRA-PSG
S&W Club - 22227
volsbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 17:52   #7
NateHodge
Here too much
 
NateHodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Laurel, MS
Posts: 4,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by volsbear View Post
How much memory?

According to manufacturers specs, 320GB hard Drive, 4gigs of ram. Looking at the C drive, 248GB free of 288 total.
__________________
Quote:
Take him saltwater fishing. If you can't talk some sense into him, don't bring him back.
NateHodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 17:53   #8
volsbear
Lifetime Membership
IWannaBeSedated
 
volsbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 12,111
I don't hear about too many laptops running well with Vista. Remember, the operating system alone sucks up 1.5GB.
__________________
"Fast is fine. But accuracy is final."

"He'd look better with lividity" - BlueIron

Black Rifle Club - RRA-PSG
S&W Club - 22227
volsbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 17:58   #9
NateHodge
Here too much
 
NateHodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Laurel, MS
Posts: 4,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by volsbear View Post
I don't hear about too many laptops running well with Vista. Remember, the operating system alone sucks up 1.5GB.

Yeah, I'm not a fan of Vista, which brings up another topic. Can I downgrade to XP? The Office Depot guy said no.
__________________
Quote:
Take him saltwater fishing. If you can't talk some sense into him, don't bring him back.
NateHodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 18:01   #10
volsbear
Lifetime Membership
IWannaBeSedated
 
volsbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 12,111
Actually I believe you can. My brother is part owner of a large computer company and they downgrade to visits on each machine before it goes to customers. I'm not sure how it does it though.
__________________
"Fast is fine. But accuracy is final."

"He'd look better with lividity" - BlueIron

Black Rifle Club - RRA-PSG
S&W Club - 22227
volsbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 18:23   #11
Kentucky_Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Posts: 1,768
Youve got two problems:

Limewire and Norton.......Your computer is loaded with viruses and spyware right now

Limewire is loaded with viruses and trojans, and you HAVE to have a high-quality anti-virus, spyware program to use with it...

and norton AINT' IT....Norton is the biggest POS antivirus on the market......

get yourself a copy of NOD-32 here :

http://www.eset.com/

get the 30 day free trial and you will find God knows how many nasty things on your machine from Limewire.....

I use Limewire with complete confidence with NOD32...it picks up the corrupted files before they even download....then move on to the next download til you find a good one......

and as soon as you download NOD32, completely remove that over-bloated, resource hog Norton off your machine.....

Last edited by Kentucky_Guy; 12-07-2008 at 18:27..
Kentucky_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 19:04   #12
DustyJacket
Gold Membership
Directiv 10-289
 
DustyJacket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri, East of KC
Posts: 6,152
+1 for Limewire (you aren't downloading pirated copyrighted songs are you? )
DustyJacket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 21:12   #13
Big Al 24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,303
LIMEWIRE!?!?!? I can't believe there's people still using that. Yeah I'd wipe the whole machine and never use Limewire again. At least use Utorrent or get hooked into a Usenext account like a modern human being. I'd try Utorrent if you need to share. And just so people know, there's plenty of legal downloads that happen with torrents. It's not all music and movies. Limewire???
Big Al 24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 22:25   #14
NateHodge
Here too much
 
NateHodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Laurel, MS
Posts: 4,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kentucky_Guy View Post
....Norton is the biggest POS antivirus on the market......

get yourself a copy of NOD-32 here :

http://www.eset.com/

I use Limewire with complete confidence with NOD32...it picks up the corrupted files before they even download....then move on to the next download til you find a good one......

I have heard a lot of good things about NOD-32. Supposed to be one of the best(if not THE best), right? After powering on my computer for the first time and going throught the initial setup and creating the recovery discs, I deliberately clicked on suspicious files in Limewire to see what Norton would do. It caught them and stopped cold to my surprise.

I activated Norton because it was free for a year with the computer. before I got this computer, I ran Mcafee because it was free with Comcast. I can still get Mcafee for free, but wanted to give Norton a try first. Can I DL NOD-32 without having compatibality issues with Norton?

Big Al, what is a good torrent client? Last time I used a torrent client, it was BitTorrent, which I liked. I tried Vuse and didn't really care for it. Ideas?
__________________
Quote:
Take him saltwater fishing. If you can't talk some sense into him, don't bring him back.
NateHodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 00:21   #15
DoubleWide
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,319
I would suspect Full Tilt Poker is causing the problems, but agree you should get rid of LimeWire too.

Since you probably only have a week* to make sure it's not something else. I'd do a full reformat and restore using the restore section or cd if you have them. Afterward run a torture test program like Prime95 to see if you have any problems. More than likely, it's the Full Tilt Poker client.

*A day or two after Christmas, you could try to return/exchange it as a Christmas present that was just opened and is now having problems.
DoubleWide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 11:26   #16
noway
Senior Member
 
noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Davie "Cowboy" , FL
Posts: 19,409
suggestion;

Linux or MacOSX both would fix your freezing up issues.

http://www.apple.com/getamac/ads/
noway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 14:45   #17
Ralff
Senior Member
 
Ralff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central FL
Posts: 1,264
I don't think a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT OPERATING SYSTEM is the answer the OP is looking for.

I'm thinking heat or faulty hardware. It's the only things I've had wrong with my PC that would actually lock it like that.
Ralff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 16:49   #18
Big Al 24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,303
I believe Utorrent is the most widely used client now. I use it occasionally, and you still have to be careful. The realy gold mine is Usenext, but if you don't know about it, I'm not going to be the one to let the cat out of the bag.
Big Al 24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 18:01   #19
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,364
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralff View Post
I don't think a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT OPERATING SYSTEM is the answer the OP is looking for.

I'm thinking heat or faulty hardware. It's the only things I've had wrong with my PC that would actually lock it like that.
Agreed, this sounds more like some sort of hardware issue, which a new OS is not gonna fix. That said, I run Frostwire on my Linux boxes, and am still waiting for some spyware/virus problems..

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 18:03   #20
solomansousana
Senior Member
 
solomansousana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hampton, Virginia
Posts: 1,614
Run HP's system restore, and restore it to a point before you installed itunes and see if that fixes it. If not, do a full system restore.
__________________
לפעמים אדם מוצא את גורלו על הדרך אותה הוא לקח בכדי להימנע ממנו(Sometimes a man can meet his destiny on the road he took to avoid it)
solomansousana is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 20:33.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,160
342 Members
818 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31