GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2008, 12:39   #1
bocephus549
Bo Knows.......
 
bocephus549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,976
Send a message via Yahoo to bocephus549
Upgrade RAM Dell 1501

I want to upgrade from 1 gig to 2 gigs. The laptop came from the factory with one gig. Does this mean I have 2 512 chips from the factory or just the one chip? I believe it has 2 ports.
__________________
The thing about reality is that it's always there waiting for you the next morning.
bocephus549 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 14:33   #2
g29andy
CLM Number 197
Charter Lifetime Member
 
g29andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: TN
Posts: 3,661


If you go to Crucial's site, it can scan your laptop and tell you what configuration you have, also what replacement/upgrade module/s you need.
__________________
Sent using ad-blocking browser
g29andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 15:26   #3
Blitzer
Cool Cat
 
Blitzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The communist's play ground of OHIO
Posts: 26,617
Send a message via AIM to Blitzer Send a message via Yahoo to Blitzer
Ditto on Crucial!
__________________
It doesn't matter what the Joe on the street thinks, it is who pays the biggest bribes to the electoral college gets elected as President! :crying:
Blitzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 16:22   #4
havensal
CLM Number 216
Nozzle Jockey
 
havensal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Western, NY
Posts: 4,457
More than likely 2x512. It is usually an adder for 1x1gb. I would recommend buying 2 gigs of faster ram as cheap as it is. Usually Dell sell the slow(cheap) stuff.
havensal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 18:32   #5
bocephus549
Bo Knows.......
 
bocephus549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,976
Send a message via Yahoo to bocephus549
Thanks Guys, that site was great. So should I just buy the upgrade they suggest? 2 gigs for $31.98 seems almost too good to be true.
__________________
The thing about reality is that it's always there waiting for you the next morning.
bocephus549 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 23:33   #6
genieinthelamp
Member
 
genieinthelamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by bocephus549 View Post
Thanks Guys, that site was great. So should I just buy the upgrade they suggest? 2 gigs for $31.98 seems almost too good to be true.
You may actually find it cheaper if you keep looking at other sites (now that you know specifically what you are looking for), but I have ordered from crucial before and been happy.

Before tech upgrades, I check slickdeals.net, bensbargains.net, and ebay.
genieinthelamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 04:54   #7
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,113
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


Quote:
Originally Posted by genieinthelamp View Post
You may actually find it cheaper if you keep looking at other sites (now that you know specifically what you are looking for), but I have ordered from crucial before and been happy.

Before tech upgrades, I check slickdeals.net, bensbargains.net, and ebay.
I agree... Crucial is generally solid RAM, and thats a good price, not sure how much lower you'll go than that.. You might get some generic brand a bit cheaper, but Crucial is generally high quality RAM, and at that price, I think that's who I'd go with.

I've gotten RAM off of ebay before on several occasions, with good luck, and usually pretty cheap, because it was older RAM. Just something to think about.

IGF
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 17:37.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,226
317 Members
909 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42