GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 12-11-2008, 06:20   #1
Nalapombu

Open Office File Extension Question..Can You Help?

Hey all,

OK, I took a lot of advice from friends and online forums and installed Open Office on my rather limited laptop instead of the BLOATED and HUGE MS Office. I have used Office my entire computing life and am pretty familiar with it. I'm no expert, but I can get by rather well.

Anyway, I used Open Office for the first REAL time the other day when I had to write a couple of letters. Everything was fine and so far there were no surprises or problems. When I was finished I went to save my document and the DEFAULT file extension I had in Writer was *.ODT, Open Document Text. I had never seen that extension before and I started wondering about it.

I was wondering whether or not I would be able to Open, edit, print and save my new WRITER document with that funny file extension in MS Office that I have and use on my MAIN computer. I haven't tried it yet so I don't know. I wanted to ask and see if that file extension is the one I should be using. I was under the impression that all of the documents I created in OO, regardless of the application, would have the same file extension. I checked the default extension in the OO Spreadsheet program and it's *.ODS. So they aren't the same.

In my version of Office MS Word saves in *.DOC and Excel saves in *.XLS, that's what I am used to and have been used to.

Can you all explain all this to me? The version of Open Office I have is 3.0. Is there a file extension I SHOULD be using in OO that I'm not? If so, what is it and how do I get it as the DEFAULT extension across all of the applications?