Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 12-30-2008, 20:45   #1
rfrf

Dual Monitors

I have a Dell Dimension 4600 XP with 4 gigs of memory. I trade stocks for a living and want to have multiple monitors. Do I need a AGP or PCI video card ? How many mbs do I need in video card ?
Thanks for all of your help and suggestions
RF
rfrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 21:42   #2
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows

Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak

Quote:
Originally Posted by rfrf View Post
I have a Dell Dimension 4600 XP with 4 gigs of memory. I trade stocks for a living and want to have multiple monitors. Do I need a AGP or PCI video card ? How many mbs do I need in video card ?
Thanks for all of your help and suggestions
RF
Well, just looking at the specs for that computer. Its pretty old, the advantage is, if you're happy with the speed, etc, upgrading it should be cheap.

http://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/del...tag=mncol;rnav

Assuming those specs are accurate, you have an 8x AGP slot, so all you need to do, is buy a second monitor, and buy a dual head video card. Again, just a guess on a PC that old, but I'm assuming you don't need DVI output, so just look for a dual VGA outputs, like the below (or you can use VGA/DVI adapters)

I run dual 19in screens on my main PC w/ this card... I'm sure ATI has some good offerings, but since I use Linux, I pretty much use only Nvidia...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143102

Plug it in, hook up both monitors, boot it up, and you'll have dual screens in no time(I've set it up under Windows also)...

IGF
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 02:08   #3
DoubleWide

AGP